From the Writing Desk

Alright, time to explain what this post is all about. This is a new thing I’m trying out. It’s going to be a biweekly/bimonthly series (hopefully) and it will be about me talking about my writing. But wait, you say, it fits none of watch, game or read. And yes, it doesn’t. There’s an argument to be made about it fitting into read, but no, I won’t be making that argument. I’ve always wanted to talk about my writing, but I don’t really have an outlet. So guess what? I’m just going to blog about it. I don’t really care if it’s just a shout into the void or not, though admittedly it would be awesome if someone actually reads and comments.

So, without further ado, let’s begin the first ever episode one of From the Writing Desk.

It’s March! And you know what that means? It means I’ve started writing again. December was the last time I wrote consistently. I wrote a short story. It was right after NaNoWriMo and I did it because I felt bad about my total word count for last year. Which wasn’t all that bad, but it dropped from my 2014 total, and I only finished one novel. I took a break in January, both to have a rest and because I had to travel. In February, I started writing a little, about 10,000 words for the new novel I’m working on. But March is when I’m cranking the gear back to my usual pace of 5,000 words a week. It’s low, but it’s something I can consistently maintain and I’m happy about that.

On a side note, that 10,000 words is what I like to call a buffer. It’s there so I won’t feel too guilty when I fail to hit my weekly goal. And whenever it drops a little too low, I go on a writing spree to buff it up again. I feel like I write better when there’s a buffer there, because I’m always above the word count goal. It’s entirely psychological, of course. I do that for NaNoWriMo too. I write like a madman in the first few days to build up a buffer.

The novel I’m working on, let’s call it AGK, is the 8th novel I’ve started since September 2013, back when I decided I wanted to write for real. And I have a great feeling about this one. (Just like the feeling you had for all the other ones) my inner voice is telling me. But I’ll be able to see how it actually is when I write more. Eighth times the charm, right?

What worries me most about AGK is that I haven’t finish plotting it out yet. I know how it ends, and I obviously know how it starts, but I’m only about two thirds sure about what the middle is all about. Hopefully, I’ll figure it out before I reach that point.

That’s all from me today. It’s short, but I didn’t want to be too long winded. In any case, I should go back to my writing. Feel free to leave me suggestions on what I should write about next.

Happy writing!

What are your thoughts?

