Camp NaNoWriMo

It will be in April in two more days, and guess what’s up in April? Camp NaNoWriMo! What’s that, you ask? It’s basically the slacker’s version of NaNoWriMo. Participants of Camp NaNoWriMo pledge to write a certain number of words, of their own choosing, in a month. Whether it be 30 words or 1,000,000 words. You can write poetry, short stories or freaking epic tomes as long as you’re up for it. Camp NaNoWriMo takes place in April and July every year.

This will be my first time participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, so I don’t know much about the difference between Camp and the vanilla version of NaNoWriMo, beyond the word count goals. I think there’s something like cabins where you can work with 11 other writers together. Separately, on each of your own individual projects. I think the main purpose of the cabins is for small groups to motivate one another and challenge each other to do stuff like word sprints. That’s something different to experience.

I was initially reluctant to join in the camp, as I’m already working on a novel. Which will hit the 35k mark by the end of this week. Aside from that, I’m also on the last stages of my postgrad candidacy. So that’s also something I need to spend time on. But when I learned that I could choose my own word count goal, instead of NaNoWriMo’s standard 50k, I was game. It will also give me time to plot out the rest of my novel, which is still stuck in the third quarter part of the story.

I’ll be doing 25k for the month. It’s a novella, I suppose, though I hesitate on calling it that. I haven’t really decided what it exactly is, but it’s the third part of a five parter. All five parts form an overall story arc but each of the five parts also has its own beginnings, middles and ends. And you’ll definitely be lost if you don’t read the first two parts. It has different point of view (PoV) characters for each part. I wrote the first two parts in the 2015 NaNoWriMo and will probably be doing the last two parts for this year’s NaNoWriMo. It started as an exercise to try out writing from different PoVs with different voices since I found my earlier books had a tendency to lean towards bland, introverted protagonists. I wanted to try something different deliberately but I didn’t want to work on a full novel with these characters, so it became a single story, told through different characters. The first part was from the PoV of a talkative, outgoing leader of the group. The second was from an intelligent, book smart researcher. And the third will be from the PoV of a new member to the group, trying to fit in.

That’s all from me. Let me know what your thoughts on Camp NaNoWriMo are and whether you’ll be participating or not.

Happy writing!

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

What are your thoughts?

