Book Haul 2016 (Part 1)

This is the first part of our book haul for 2016, and you would realized this is actually my first book post as I do not read as much anymore lately. My choice of books are largely based on good reviews from Goodreads (Go try it out if you haven’t!!), from their list of best books in year XXXX and also book reviewers on YouTube, so hopefully they do not disappoint. The post would give just a brief introduction about the books bought and what I would come to expect from it. *drum roll* First up is…

(My pick)

The Martian (Andy Weir) – I got this book largely thanks to how well the movie actually impressed me, which to me was one of the best film of 2015. It tells a story of how an astronaut got accidentally left behind after an emergency evacuation during a mission on Mars. The poor dude was left to fend for himself from the harsh environment and limited food supply. An interesting blend of perseverance of self-survival and humor makes the movie very enjoyable to watch, as survival movies are usually all doom and gloom.  This book is the winner of the science fiction category of Goodreads 2014 so I expect a lot from it, hopefully to elaborate on the scenes from the movie.

Carry On (Rainbow Rowell) – The book was highly recommended by some of the YouTube book reviewers and knowing Rainbow Rowell who wrote the excellent book Eleanor & Park, I got pretty hyped up about it. If you have read the other book called Fangirl from the same author, you would quickly realized that the story within Carry On is the one the world in Fangirl are obsessed with. Imagine that, a book within a book. Bookception!

An Ember in the Ashes (Sabaa Tahir) – A debut book from Sabaa Tahir which earned rave reviews, frequently chosen as the best YA books of 2015. Best of all, I managed to get the hardcover edition at a price of RM45 (11.50USD) which really is a steal. The film rights of the book were optioned off in 2014 for a whopping seven-figure deal and is pretty mind blowing considering this is the first book from the new author. We might be witnessing a “JK Rowling level” author emerging.

Golden Son (Pierce Brown) – To be honest, I don’t know what to really expect from this book, other than it’s been really highly rated series from Pierce Brown. Similarly to hunger games, the protagonist leads a bunch of rebels that were oppressed by the elitist. It’s actually the second book of the trilogy, with the first book titled Red Rising and Jamie has a copy of it.  I would need to be kind to him in order to get this series starting. Golden Son won Goodreads best Science fiction 2015 so you see a trend of the books I’ve chosen.

2016-04-15 04.11.43 1.jpg

(Jamie’s pick)

Truthwitch (Susan Dennard) – The first book of the Witchland series. Safi is a Truthwitch, someone who is able to discern truth from lies. She and her friend Iseult are forced to leave town because of an incident involving a Guildmaster. She must keep her powers hidden because many people are after her abilities. Honestly, I had no real reason picking this up. I just saw some Booktubers talking about it, thought it had a cool looking cover and I was in the mood for some YA Fantasy.

Lord of Emperors (Guy Gavriel Kay) – The sequel to Sailing to Sarantium. A renowned mosaicist is called to Sarantium by the Emperor. However he soon finds himself entangled in the schemes of Sarantium as the Emperor plots to reunite the Empire, including Crispin’s homeland. Guy Gavriel Kay is the assistant of Christopher Tolkien and helped him work on the manuscripts JRR Tolkien left behind. I already have the first book, buying this would complete the series, and I was tempted by the cheap price. And I’ve been trying to get into GGK for a while now. So I got it. Besides, the Sarantine Mosaic is inspired by Byzantine.

The 100 (Kass Morgan) – The 100 tales the story of 100 delinquents from a space station sent back to post apocalyptic Earth in an experiment to see if Earth can still sustain human life. It’s also a TV series now. I got this book because I was planning on writing a post apocalyptic YA novel and was looking for some inspiration. So I’ve read this. Turns out it wasn’t so much about a post apocalypse Earth than about relationships between several of the delinquents. It has its good points, but I was disappointed because I was expecting a post apocalyptic survival story.

Crown of Midnight (Sarah J Maas) – the second book in the Throne of Glass series. It tells the story of Celaena Sardothian, an assassin who has become the king’s champion. However, her loyalty lies elsewhere and she struggles with it. I liked the first book in the series, and was going to continue it, but somehow I never got around to it. So here it is now.

 

What are your thoughts?

