Camp NaNoWriMo Completed!

Fourth episode of FWD here. It’s the final week of Camp NaNoWriMo and I’ve hit my word count goal! What’s Camp NaNoWriMo, you ask? Well, I answer that here.

It’s been a fun journey and while Camp NaNoWriMo is, in many ways, similar to the vanilla NaNoWriMo, it’s definitely a different experience. I would encourage anyone who has participated in NaNoWriMo to give it a try. Heck, if you’ve never done NaNoWriMo before, you should still give Camp a try. It’s definitely much easier to get into.

First off, the similar parts. Pretty much everything about the writing, sans word count, is the same as NaNoWriMo. My NaNoWriMo strategy works well with Camp too. I was able to keep ahead of my daily goal throughout the month, despite some real life issues taking some time off my writing time.

And the difference? The cabins. Before joining Camp, I wondered how it would work and whether it would be a distraction. Turns out, it’s actually just a chat room. I found it fun. It was a huge factor in my difference of experience for Camp. Mainly because I’ve usually done NaNoWriMo by myself.

My cabin wasn’t very active, a few campers never turned up but the few that did made it interesting. Though it eventually petered out as the month continued. Sometimes I found myself checking the site without any need to update my word count, which never happened with NaNoWriMo. It helps that more than a few of my cabin mates were first time campers as well. I wonder if the organizer has some sort of algorithm to help put us together, or if it was entirely random. It would be interesting to see what they factor into the sorting. Word count goals for sure. Engagement, maybe? How many times a camper has done Camp NaNoWriMo?

As for the book I was working on? It turned out pretty iffy but I had fun writing it. It’s a campy story about a group of college kids traveling around the world, racing against an evil organization to obtain a magical relic. I pulled stuff out of my ass (with some help from, Wikipedia) to explain some of the things that were happening.  Yeah… It’s probably never going to see the light of day. But, I’m still going to write the last two parts of the story. It’s too fun to just stop in the middle, bad as it might be. Besides, the main goal of this work was to test out writing different characters.

Oh yeah, remember when I said that I would be finishing up the plot of the novel I was working on before this? Yeah, failed that. Added a few scenes and chapters to the outline, but it’s still not complete. Still can’t quite connect the climax with the rest of the story. At the rate I’m writing, I’ll probably have to figure it out before June… God help me.

At any rate, I enjoyed my Camp NaNoWriMo experience, though I don’t think I’ll be participating in the July one. Maybe next year. Did you participate in Camp NaNoWriMo? What was your experience with it? Let me know in the comments.

That’s all from me, and until next time, happy writing!

4 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Completed!

  1. CONGRATS ON FINISHING!! *tosses confetti and cake everywhere* I did Camp NaNo too! But unofficially…because I’m an antisocial writer and wasn’t sure I would even be keen on the cabin then. 😉 I know I know…the shame. But I managed to get a 98K book down, which is the most I’ve written for a book in like..5 years. :O SO THAT WAS EXCITING. It’s mostly rubbish too, but I’m still looking forward to editing and hopefully making it seeable to human eyes. 😄 Are you doing the Camp in July too? I’m thiiiiinking about it. hehe.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANKS! I think you can opt out of cabins, so you can join to get the pretty cert. 98k is huge. I only did 25k for mine. Good luck with the editing. It’s the part I hate the most. Haha. Still thinking about Camp in July. Don’t think I can fit it in my schedule though.

      Like

  2. AHH CONGRATULATIONS once again on finishing NaNoWriMo, that’s a huge accomplishment, and you should be proud! I absolutely LOVE your story, it’s such a cool idea, I would love to read some snippets, the whole thing, pre-order it and display it on my shelves. Seriously it sounds so good! 😀 I hope you’ll keep on writing and obviously, let us know about it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, again! I’m proud about finishing it, just not as proud of the story itself. Maybe someday, when I whip it into something more presentable, I’ll post it on the blog. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

