Ten Childhood Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week’s topic is Ten Childhood Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults. I’ll admit I overthought this theme. Was this about characters in books I read as a kid that I want to revisit? Characters that were kids themselves, regardless of what age I read them, and I wanted to see what they grew up to be? Or was this about characters in books I read when I was a kid and wanted to revisit them when turned into adults? On reading the rest of the theme, I think it’s the third one, which is what I’ll be doing.

Beware of spoilers. You’ll know the characters in this list survives at the end of their books. If that’s something that bothers you, stay away!

Mat Cauthon

One of the three characters in Wheel of Time with the plot armor known as “being a Ta’veren”. I think he’s the most interesting of the three. A young man who shuns responsibilities at every turn, though his sense of duty makes him do whatever is forced upon him. He starts as a mischief seeking, dice throwing young man and ends up as the commander of the Light’s forces and the consort to the ruler of the greatest empire in the Wheel of Time world. Would be interesting to see how he fares as the Prince of Ravens. Robert Jordan hinted that the outrigger novels would have some stories about this. Sadly, it’ll probably never happen.

Rand al’Thor

Another of the three Ta’verens in Wheel of Time, Rand al’Thor is the prophesied savior of the world. I’m interested to see how life fares for him after the Last Battle. Hopefully it will be a peaceful one. He certainly deserves it. Just reading about him traveling around the broken world and watch as they rebuild would be satisfying.

Nynaeve al’Meara

I promise, this is the last character from Wheel of Time. Bet you thought it was going to Perrin, hah! (He’s the third Ta’veren for those of you who hasn’t read WoT). You’ll probably have guessed it in the feature image. I actually like Perrin the best out of the three, but I think he and Faile would probably lead fairly stable lives after the Last Battle, though I do wonder if they would stay in Two Rivers or move to Saldaea (almost wrote Sadeas, dang fantasy names >_<). Probably the latter since Faile is now the queen. And… wait, I’m not supposed to talk about Perrin.

Alright, Nynaeve. I hesitate to include her. She’s a little older than most of the characters on these list. She’s already a bona fide adult, but she’s one of my favorite characters in Wheel of Time. She left the Two Rivers as a self important young woman who is determined to bring the Two Rivers youths back home. Failing that she vows to protect them. Her coming to terms with her failures would be an interesting journey. Especially when one of the failure isn’t actually a failure. I wonder if she ever finds out. She’ll probably tug at her braid. A lot. I imagine she’ll be some sort of Aes Sedai advisor to Lan when they rebuild Malkier. Or feuding with the Aes Sedai advisor as the queen. Oh, oh, that sounds even better.

Harry Potter

Life after Hogwarts must be very different, especially for someone who works an Auror. Reading about Harry going around catching rogue wizards would be entertaining. I imagine something like what a certain other wizard dealing with magical crime named Harry does. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is coming soon, so there’s that.

Draco Malfoy

Another one from Harry Potter. It would be interesting to see how Draco deals with the aftermath of the Battle of Hogwarts. I wonder if he feel guilt at having been responsible for Dumbledore’s death. Him meeting Astoria and the subsequent awkward family gatherings, due to Astoria’s beliefs, could be fun to read.

new_sabriel300px

Sabriel

Main character of the first Old Kingdom book, she has since relinquished her role to Lirael. She becomes the Abhorsen, who is a sort of anti Necromancer which banish the dead through the gates of Death. She does have some involvement in the story, mainly in the training of Lirael to be the next Abhorsen, but I find myself wanting a story that focuses on her doing Abhorsen-y stuff while juggling her responsibilities as a wife, a mother and a queen.

The Secret Seven Crew

One of my favorite series as a kid. The Secret Seven is about a group of seven kids + a dog who solved mysteries around their neighborhood. I still have almost every book in the series (a little issue of mine. Most series I collect are one or two books shy of a complete set). I wonder if the crew will continue doing investigation work, perhaps working in Law Enforcement. Or maybe operating as a detective consultancy. Imagine a cooperation of Sherlock Holmes. Hmm…

Eragon

While I didn’t like the conclusion of the Inheritance Cycle, I still find myself wondering what happens to Eragon after the events of the series, especially about how the Dragon Riders would reestablish themselves. Apparently a standalone Book 5 has been plotted out, but seems like Paolini is working on a sci fi book/series. Who knows how long it will be before Book 5 comes about.

14206284510_4919d8b357_b

I think Alex Pettyfer can pull off an adult Alex Rider secret agent film series.

Alex Rider

I read a lot of Alex Rider throughout my teenage years. He was the young James Bond of my life. Sans the pretty women in each installment. I wonder how he would turn out as an adult. Perhaps live as an instructor on a spy boot camp wouldn’t be too out of line. Though that might be a tad boring.

Tom Sawyer

I’ll admit, I’ve only read the abridged version of Adventures of Tom Sawyer when I was a kid. He was just a lovable rogue. Well, lovable is pretty arguable. Getting “engaged” to a girl a day after his first engagement, planning to attend his funeral when his family thinks he’s dead. I wonder if he would grow up to be a Han Solo.

That’s ten childhood characters I want to revisit as an adult. What are your ten? Let me know in the comments down below.

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Ten Childhood Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults

  1. Tom Sawyer would definitely grow up to be like Han Solo, that’s great comparison. I also think it would be interesting to read about Draco’s life after HP7. The kid went through a lot and made some bad choices, but I also think he learned a lot. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Goodness I would LOVE to see Draco Malfoy in the future, haha. I’m super biased though because I really like Tom Felton… but yeah, the awkward family gatherings would be fun to read. I bet there’s a fanfic somewhere about this!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eragon!! I have the final book of the Inheritance sitting on my bookshelf and I’m just waiting for the time to finally read it. I certainly hope that book 5 comes out soon.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

