Ten Great Beach Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week’s topic is Ten Great Beach Reads.

I have trouble with this topic, largely because I couldn’t imagine what I’d read at the beach. I’ve only been to beaches with youth groups, and those tend to have more team building activities than reading. I mean, why read at the beach? It’s hot, there’s a bunch of distractions, you’re probably going to get sand all over your book and you’re probably there with friends… Doesn’t help the beaches closest to where I live is a short drive away from mountains. So hiking and jungle trekking usually eats up a lot of time too. So why read at the beach? I guess to past time while you’re tanning? Please let me know. I have no experience with beach reading.

Anyway, if it was me and I was going to the beach and wanted something to read, I would want something short and easily digestible. That’s the criteria I used to build my list.

Quote - Legion

Legion

Legion is a novella series by Brandon Sanderson. It stars a man with hallucinations. Each hallucination is specialize in a specific field, like a linguist or a historian, which he uses to help him solve mysteries. It’s basically a one man heist story. I’m still hoping this turns into a TV series, because I can totally see it as one.

25188109

Perfect State

Perfect State tells the story of God Emperor Kairominas, who has the entire world under his rule. Except his world isn’t the only one and he often spars with his arch nemesis Melhi. But today, Kairominas has a different challenge. He is leaving his home world to go on a date with Sophie, a woman who has achieved what he has on another world. There’s lots of twists and turns through this short novella which keeps things interesting.

 

Quote - Abundance of Katherines

An Abundance of Katherines

One of the less well received John Green books, but I thought this would make a perfect summer read. Its subject is lighter and doesn’t have tear jerker moments. You won’t want people watching you cry by the beach, right? Beside it’s about a road trip, and doing work in a rural town during summer. Not so much beach as summer material, but it fits the mood.

13578175

Emperor’s Soul

Shai, a master Forger, is caught and in exchange for her life, she must do the impossible. She must forge a new soul for the Emperor in a 100 days. The Emperor has been left in a vegetative state after an assassination attempt. And during her imprisonment, she discovers she might just be killed to keep it a secret. She needs an escape plan. One of my favorite novellas, and the one that won Sanderson his first Hugo Award.

 

Quote - Summer I turned Pretty

The Summer I Turned Pretty

Okay, I’ll admit that I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book, but I think a lot of people are going to enjoy it, judging by the Goodreads rating. And more importantly, I think it’s perfect for a beach read. I can practically imagine myself looking at the sea while taking a dip in the swimming pool of a beach house while reading this.

26365537

Kindred Spirits

Kindred Spirits is a short tale of fandom, about the excitement of a new release, the talks between fans and arguing about which character or entry in the series is best. Just happens that this fandom is Star Wars fandom. Star Wars fans will great more enjoyment out of this, but non fans will be able to appreciate the fandom aspects of it in general too.

So that’s six of them. I’ve failed again. I feel like I’m in some sort of a slump here. Oh well. So do you bring books to read at the beach? Could you let me know why? I really want to know.

24 thoughts on “Ten Great Beach Reads

  1. As someone who has lived on the Texas Coast all of her life, the beach is unavoidable. And for all sorts of reasons. School trips, family outings, friends that are obsessed with tanning. When you are a book nerd, reading at the beach is just something that happens, I guess! Plus, it’s great to get a folding chair, and have your butt in the water and a book in your hands 🙂 You just have to make sure it’s a book you wouldn’t be devastated about if some jerk kid splashes you.

    Great list 🙂

    My TTT.</a

    Like

  2. Having 10 isn’t mandatory despite the name top ten tuesday. 😉 I used to feel the same though. So much Brandon Sanderson. I’ve only read the graphic novel that is coming out by him so far, though I do own 5 of his other books. I need to get on that. Great list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ahh Brandon Sanderson! I really need to start reading his books (I currently own the Mistborn trilogy but haven’t gotten around to them because no time :/). I’m definitely not the kind of person who sits on the sand and read aha I tend to just head straight for the water^^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve heard a ton of things about The Summer I Turned Pretty so I’m definitely going to give that one a try this summer. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I always swim when I’m at the beach… Though I guess when I get out of the water and I’m letting the sun warm me up again I like to read a bit… Great choices! My hubby has great things to say about Brandon Sanderson, so I can see why he’s on your list so much!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

