Monthly Wrap-Up: May

may - watch

Caleb – As you would note,Silicon Valley and Daredevil are both very polarizing genre but equally entertaining. If I’m in the mood of needing some laughter or prefer watching something shorter, Silicon Valley would be my pick. The show depicts the issue commonly faced by people in the tech industry in a manner that is simple enough to appeals even to viewers who has little to no interested about technology. The humor is great and yet relatable to me and my group of friends in many ways. Daredevil on the other side of the ring is a much darker tone with fantastic acting, storyline and fighting scenes(they are among the best out there). It’s basically a one-man vigilante trying to make his town a safer place and it gets better by the season. The show is really realistic and shows that even the protagonist has plenty of flaws in character and sometimes ended up badly injured while facing up to formidable opponents.

Jamie – I started rewatching Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood this month. It’s an anime about well… alchemists. I’ve forgotten how dark it was, but it has been enjoyable so far. Game of Thrones: Season 6 is also on my list. Not too happy with how some plot lines are turning around, but I guess this is the closest we’ll get to Winds of Winter for a while.

Both – Captain America: Civil War is one of the best films of the year so far. And certainly did the whole superhero vs superhero thing way better than Batman vs Superman.

Check out our review of Captain America.

may - game

Caleb – Yay! Finally got the inspiration to continue my long hiatus of looking for Ciri. You’ll get what I mean if you play the game. Witcher 3 is undisputedly one of the Game of the year of 2015, which was unsurprising as the storyline and quest execution is top-notch.The aesthetic of the game superb and I personally feel the world is one of the most immersive experience  had in a game.

Jamie – I’m still stuck with Final Fantasy X. I’ve spent about two months at the foot of Mount Gagazet. Finally managed to climb it. I like the game, but I need a huge chunk of time to really get into each session of playing, but I just can’t find that chunk anymore and the random encounter rate really drives me up the wall sometimes. Hitman Go was a impromptu buy from the recent PSN flash sale, mostly because it’s a relaxing game with a platinum trophy. Uncharted 4 is the best game of the year so far.

Both – FIFA 16 is something we play regularly, sometimes against each other online. Stellaris is an awesome grand strategy / 4x game from Paradox. Expect a review sometime next month!

Check out our review of Uncharted 4.

may -read

Caleb Cinder, the first book of the Lunar Chronicles which basically tells the story of a cyborg modern day “Cinderella” and man it’s gooood you should read it. I’ve also just started Fangirl after gotten the book Carry On, a fanfiction book written by the protagonist of Fangirl! Steven Gerrard: My story is more out of my love for Liverpool and football in general. Some biography are pretty inspiring and this book has been pretty awesome thus far.

Jamie – Winter was the conclusion to the Lunar Chronicles. Highly recommended. Kindred Spirits is a novella about Star Wars fandom. The Screaming Staircase is the first book in the Lockwood & Co series, featuring a group of teenage ghostbusters. A fun book to read about. Eleanor & Park is a YA romance set in 1980s Omaha about two misfits falling in love with each other. Absolutely adored the teenage love. The Lightning Thief is the first Percy Jackson and the Olympians novel. Gives me vibes of Harry Potter and that’s always a good thing. Bluescreen is cyberpunk book set in near future LA about a digital drug known as Bluescreen. It’s the first book in the Mirador series. Funny thing is I’ve written the reviews for the first four books, but with my current one week, one review/discussion post schedule, I’m far, far behind. I’m planning to amp it up once I’m comfortable with the thought of writing four posts per week.

Check out our review of Cinder.

4 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: May

    • GO WATCH IT NOW! haha jokes aside, it’s really good quality humor and the show depicts the issues that are affecting tech companies pretty well.

      Like

  1. Civil War was a great film and plain enjoyable to watch! You reminded me that I need to watch Daredevil at some point. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood is one of my favorite anime!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

