Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week’s topic is Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year.

This wasn’t an easy list to put together, since I don’t usually follow the latest books. Doesn’t help that the only author I usually follow (Brandon Sanderson) released all four of his works in the first half of the year. Dang it Sanderson, why didn’t you spread it out over the year! (Actually I forgot about one and have added it to the list now.) Anyway, here’s a list I manage to scrounge up.

29056083

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (July 31)

OMGOMGOMGOMG! It’s almost here! It’s almost here!!!! The eighth Harry Potter book! I never thought this day would come! I wonder if Albus is the cursed child… hmm… Nope, I’m not going to speculate. I want to go in knowing nothing.

26114463

Nevernight (Aug 9)

I’ve been meaning to read Kristoff’s the Lotus War series for a while now. Definitely also going to keep an eye for Nevernight. The story is about an assassin in training, Mia Corvere, who lives in a world without nights. She finds refuge among the assassins after her father is executed and his former allies are now after her. It’s going to be interesting to see how much the “without nights” part would affect the assassination attempts.

26114291

Ghost Talkers (Aug 16)

I’m trying to read all the podcasters on Writing Excuses. Kowal is the only one I haven’t gotten to yet. Well, actually that isn’t quite true, I’ve read her story in the Writing Excuses anthology. The Glamourist Histories doesn’t sound like something I’d like, so I’ve not really planned to read them. Ghost Talkers sounds like something I might be interested though. Set in alternate World War I, Ginger Stuyvesant (cigarette ads, anyone?) is a medium who works with the Spirit Corps. They talk with dead soldiers to get the latest reports on the battle fronts before they move on to the afterlife. However, a traitor has infiltrated the ranks and the Germans are making a move on the Spirit Corps. She must figure out how to deal with the problems at hand.

25558608

A Torch against the Night (Aug 20)

The sequel to an Ember in the Ashes. I haven’t actually read the first book yet, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. By the way, is there going to be third book? Can anyone let me know how long the series will be?

28260587

Empire of Storms (Sep 16)

Fifth book in the Throne of Glass series! I’m currently reading Heir of Fire. And I’m excited about the story so far. Unless that changes in the next books, I’m looking forward to Empire of Storms’s release. That cover though. I love it, but I don’t think it really fits with the rest of the series. Celaena seems to have taken some fashion advice from Indiana Jones.

8074907

The Thorn of Emberlain (Sep 22)

The fourth book in the Gentleman Bastard series. I’ve only read the Lies of Locke Lamora, but I love it. I might wait until the fifth book comes out before I continue the series. There’s been quite a long wait between the previous books. I’ve heard that it’s because of the author’s depression but that he’s recovered now. So we’ll see.

22299763

Crooked Kingdom (Sep 27)

The second and final book of the Six of Crows series. I have Six of Crows on my soonish TBR. It’s about a heist group in a fantasy setting. I love me some heist. I might actually wait until September before I read Six of Crows, less of a wait time before I can jump right into the next book.

28960100

A Million Worlds with You (Nov 1)

The third book in the Firebird series. I’m not usually a fan of multi-dimensional stuff, but the cover just gets me. I’m thinking of waiting until November before I jump into the series. So I’m definitely keeping an eye out for this date.

18584855

Heartless (Nov 8)

A new fairy tale retelling by Marissa Meyer. This time it’s about the Queen of Hearts (from Alice in Wonderland) before she becomes the Queen of Hearts. But it’s not a part of the Lunar Chronicles though. I love the cover of the book and it has an interesting premise. Excited to see how to story turns out.

Arcanum Unbounded: the Cosmere Collection (Nov 8)

A collection of short stories and novellas set in the Cosmere universe. It will contain 8 works, including a new one which might be called Edgedancer and will be telling the story of Lift, a young girl featured in one of Words of Radiance’s Interludes. Lift is a pretty divisive character, most people either like her or hate her. I’m in the former camp, so definitely looking forward to see more of her.

That’s ten books I’m anticipating for the second half of 2016. What are yours? Let me know in the comments down below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

53 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

  1. Heartless, A Torch Against the Night and Empire of Storms all made my list too! I also have Never Night and Harry Potter both on my TBR list 🙂 a couple of these series I also need to actually start, so the first books are on my TBR too 🙂 great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have no experience with Kowal’s work, but her short stories in particularly has been nominated for a lot of Hugos, so I think it will be great. Thanks, I hope so too.

      Like

  2. YES TO ALL OF THESE. Crooked Kingdom is one of my most anticipated books too. Hopefully it ends up being just as amazing as Six of Crows! 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I haven’t started reading the series yet, but the reviews, premise and everything in between has me excited for it. I’m probably going to start when Crooked Kingdom is released just so I won’t have to wait. Haha.

      Like

  3. I am so totally DEFINITELY looking forward to Heartless and Crooked Kingdom too!! *shrieks happily* I NEED MORE KAZ IN MY LIFE ASAP (and I’m going to start re-reading Six of Crows soon to prepare…that’s how hooked I am ahahaah *falls in love with all the psycho characters*) I also agree about Celaena’s outfit. IT is SO 100% Indiana Jones. Like it doesn’t even look right!??!? And those covers were such a pretty series, omg, such fail.😂

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read Six of Crows yet, planning to wait until Crooked Kingdom is out before I start so I won’t feel the wait. Haha. I hate the wait. I think the cover itself is pretty great, just the outfit is a bit off.

      Like

    • I have the first three books too. Only read Lies. The narrative style is something I’m not totally used to, so I’ll need a huge chunk of time to focus on the story so I haven’t read the others yet. But Lies was definitely awesome. Loved the characters and heists are awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Super thankful that he’s so prolific. I usually try to keep my schedule free whenever he releases a new book so I can finish them quickly.
      So excited for Heartless, such an interesting take on the Queen of Hearts.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Looking for Your Next Great Read? – Entertainment for the Young and Young-at-heart

What are your thoughts?

