Top Ten Books of 2016 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year, since I didn’t read a lot of books released this year, I decided to do a Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year instead.

BandsofMourning_cover

the Bands of Mourning (Mistborn #6)

The 6th book of the Mistborn series. The story follows Wax, Wayne and Marasi as they attempt to find the fabled Bands of Mourning, the metalminds original used by the Lord Ruler to store his powers. Check out my review here.

packages-0577108001453835864

Secret History (Mistborn #3.5)

A novella set in the Cognitive Realm after the events of the original Mistborn trilogy. Though I would recommend reading it only after you’ve read the Bands of Mourning. It tells the story of a major character in Mistborn and how he fares after what happens to him in the series. Basically a fan service, very Cosmere aware novella. Review here.

26365537

Kindred Spirits

A novella set three days before the premiere of the Force Awakens as Elena waits in line with two other people. They talk and enjoy each other’s company in the spirit of fandom, debating over which movie is the best and stuff like that. Excellent book for Star Wars fans, great book for all who have experienced fandom.

13555073

The Screaming Staircase (Lockwood #1)

A novel set in a world where ghosts roam the streets at night. Two agents from the three agented Lockwood Agency fumbles a case and reparations are demanded from them. A rich client offers them a potential out. To exorcise the haunted Combe Carey Hall with its Red Room and Screaming Staircase. It’s basically Ghostbuster meets Scooby Doo with dollops of Shadows of Silence in the Forests of Hell.

11235712

Lunar Chronicles

A series of fairy tale retellings in a scifi setting. Lunar Chronicles tells the story of Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter loosely based upon Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White respectively. It has some great action scenes, good romance and I had a ton of fun devouring the series.

15745753

Eleanor & Park

Set in 1980s Omaha, Eleanor & Park is about two teenage misfits who falls in love with each other. A sweet young adult novel about first love. My first full length book by Rainbow Rowell, absolutely loved it. Can’t wait to start reading Fangirl.

28187

Percy Jackson & the Olympians

Oh my gods, why didn’t I read this earlier? This is the second series I’ve felt this way this year (first being Lunar Chronicles). Seems like I’ve a lot of catching up do after a few years of slacking from reading. Absolutely loved it. It’s up there with Harry Potter for me. Would dive into Heroes of Olympus, except that I feel bad for neglecting other books on my TBR. Will get back to the world after a few other books in between.

Calamity_book_cover

Calamity (Reckoners #3)

Not the conclusion I was hoping for to the Reckoners Trilogy. The book itself was great. The setting was great, the action was great, the characters were great and then the ending… it isn’t bad per se, but it just left a lot of questions unanswered. The earliest we’ll get resolution to those questions is 2018. That’s still a long way away. I’m hoping that Sanderson comes out of the blue with the complete Apocalypse Guard series, next year, right after he finishes the first five books in Stormlight Archive and finishes Rithmatist. Judging from past experiences, it won’t be impossible. I mean, we’re talking about a man who accidentally wrote two books.

20499652

Bluescreen (Mirador #1)

The first book in Dan Well’s new series – Mirador. I enjoyed the Partials Sequence so I thought I’d give this a try. It’s a cyberpunk book, with all the high tech low life aspects that comes with. There’s also VR games, and djinnis, which are basically smart phones implanted into your brain. The story revolves around a digital drug called Bluescreen, which overlodes the djinni giving the user a brief high before crashing, sending the user into a short comma before the system reboots. However, the Bluescreen is not as harmless as it sounds and Marisa has to do everything she can to protect her friends and her family as the drug soon flood the streets.

17167166

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

The second book in the Throne of Glass series. I read the first book a while back and finally got to read the rest of the series. Crown of Midnight was a step up from Throne of Glass and I’m currently really, really enjoying Heir of Fire. CoM tells the story of an assassin who has become the Royal Assassin of the king who conquered her homelands. She struggles between keeping her place in the palace and with her loyalty to her kingdom.

Those are the top ten books I’ve read so far this year. What are yours? Let me know in the comments down below!

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Books of 2016 So Far

  1. The Screaming Staircase and Cinder. ❤ So glad to see you loved those, especially Lockwood! I still have to get on the Brandon Sanderson bandwagon, but hopefully next month will be Reckoners month. 🙂 Great list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I still need to get my hands on the Lockwood sequels. Hope to get them soon. Quickly jump aboard! The Reckoners is a great place to start. Hope you’ll enjoy reading Sanderson.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m loving all the Sanderson on this list. :’) GO SANDERSON! AHHHH. So I have Calamity on my TBR…actually I was thinking of starting it really soon but I’m not sure yet because OMG SO MANY BOOKS TO READ. Ahem. But Firefight was one of my favourite books of this year. ❤ OR OF EVER. Squeee. Basically I want to read all the Sanderson of ever but omg I have a lot of work to do. 😄 I'm so glad you liked Cinder! And E&P is so great, but I really prefer Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. ;') So much nerdom and writing-ness. OH. And I won a copy of Kindred Spirits and I really ought to get to that. I'm not a huge Star Wars fan? So that's put me off….but I AM a huge geek so I'm sure I'll relate to it at least a little. xD
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • GO SANDERSON!!! I didn’t realize I have so many Sandersons in there. Haha. He’s about the only author that I read as soon as the books come out. Hope you read all the Sanderson soon! I think I’ll love Fangirl too, the premise sounds like my kind of book. Just haven’t gotten around to it. TBR IS KILLING ME. I think Kindred Spirits is like a mini Fangirl, so Star Wars fan or not, it will be a quick, enjoyable read.

      Like

  3. I really need to read the rest of the Mistborn series that came after the trilogy. I have some of them. I’m a huge Sanderson fan.

    Also I love the lunar chronicles and throne of glass books.
    Great choices!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope it’ll be better for you! I think I had a lot of expectations going in that went unfulfilled. So your mileage will vary. It’s a new series called the Apocalypse Guard, but it’s in the same multi-universe as the Reckoners. So Calamity is the last Reckoners book. The new series is about a group of people travelling across dimensions to try and stop apocalypses.

      Like

      • It amazes me how fast this man writes and how much quality he retains even with that speed. Sometimes I wonder if he has maybe like twenty unpublished drafts lying around that he just sends to his publisher at the right time, haha. Apocalypse Guard sounds interesting, though, very X-Men-y (which I just LOVE). Thanks for letting me know about it. 🙂

        Like

  4. I MUST get to reading the Sanderson books! Love seeing them listed, because Sanderson!

    And yes, The Lunar Chronicles is so much fun–one of few series that I auto-bought as soon as the books were published… well, except for Cinder, I stumbled into that one and it was one of the greatest stumbles I’ve had in my reading life.

    Lots of good selections here. I’m also interested in reading Bluescreen; even though I haven’t gotten around to finishing the Partials Sequence trilogy yet, the premise of Bluescreen sounds very intriguing to me.

    My TTT: https://anicheungbookabyss.blogspot.com/2016/06/top-ten-tuesday-favorites-of-2016.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES, YOU MUST! Sanderson’s super awesome. Can’t say that enough. The Lunar Chronicles are awesome too. Meyer is becoming an auto buy for me too. 😀
      Bluescreen has its flaws, but I think it’s good outweigh them. Partials is great too, hope you’ll finish it 😀

      Like

  5. What a great list – a couple on here that I still need to get round to, for example the Lunar Chronicles (don’t know why I’m not diving in with these, I’ve owned them forever and everyone raves about them – obviously I’m scared to enjoy myself!
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YES, YES, YES! The Percy Jackson series is one of my favorite series of all time so I am so glad to see that you’ve finally read it and enjoyed it as much as I did. 🙂 And the Cinder and Crown of Midnight are great too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The only one of these I’ve read is Percy Jackson, but it’s one of my ALL TIME favourite series so I’m super that you enjoyed it!! A bunch of these are on my TBR. I really want to read some Rainbow Rowell and Brandon Sanderson books (Sanderson kinda intimidates me though haha).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Percy Jackson is AWESOME!! My plan to put off reading HoO is starting to fall apart :O. Rainbow Rowell is great! Hope you start reading her soon, as for Sanderson, he does have some shorter works to test the waters with. Emperor’s Soul might be a good place to start.

      Like

  8. Ah, so much Sanderson!! I’ve only read Mistborn but I do own book 2 and 3 in addition to Steelheart, all thanks to BookOutlet. I’m so happy you finally read PJO and loved it! Riordan is one of my auto-buy authors; everything he writes makes me laugh and is just so good.

    Thanks for stopping by Princessica of Books!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. JONATHAN STROUD MY HEART. His Bartimaeus books are my favorite things.
    Ahh, I’ve been wanting to get into Brandon Sanderson for a while now! Do you have any particular place you would recommend starting?
    Eleanor and Park! One of my closest friends read it a while ago and absolutely LOVED it, and though I’m not usually into contemporaries I’m thinking of trying it. I like that the protagonists are misfits instead of socially accepted, popular people – it’s a nice change of pace from the perspective of another social weirdo like myself.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t actually read Bartimaeus yet. But I’m getting to it! Sanderson is great! The Mistborn trilogy is a great place to start. Or if you’re looking a novella, the Emperor’s Soul is great too.
      Eleanor & Park is a good story, though it does have its flaws. It’s very relatable. I also love when 80s culture are mentioned, like the Watchmen comics or walkmans.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

