Ten Series I Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is a freebie week, so I decided to do Ten Series I Want to Read. Most of these series have been on my TBR for a while, and most of them are pretty long which is why I haven’t dived into them yet. Now that I’ll be pretty free in the upcoming months, I think it’s a good time to read them.

20345548

The Malazan Book of the Fallen

Probably one the three major epics of 90s fantasy, alongside aSoIaF and WoT, I’ve set my sights on Malazan for a long while now. But they’re said to have a steep slope to climb before you can get into the world. That plus a ten book series, and three other series set in the same universe? It’s daunting to say the least. The overall world is created by Steven Erikson and Ian Esslemont for their roleplaying campaigns, but they write separately. They both have two series under their belt now. Thus far 19 books have been published with many more to come. Daunting.

891592

Temeraire

Temeraire is a flintlock fantasy novel set in the Napoleonic Wars, except they use dragons in battle. England. France. War. Napolean. Dragons. Yeah, pretty interesting combination. The ninth and final book is came out this month. So the series will be complete. Definitely a good time to get into the series.

13449693

The Raven Cycle

I’ve heard a lot of great things about the Raven Cycle both in the realm of book blogging and booktubing. And the excitement is infectious, even though I know next to nothing about the story, I’m still excited about reading it. I’ve watched Stiefvater’s TedTalk before, and she struck me as an awesome person. If everything goes according to plan, I’ll be starting the Raven Boys next week!

9579634

Broken Empire and the Red Queen’s War

I learn of Mark Lawrence from r/fantasy. He’s a regular poster there. His personal story is also a pretty remarkable one. I won’t go into too much detail, but you can read it here. He also started the Self-published Fantasy Blog-off. Anyway, he’s the author of the Broken Empire and the Red Queen’s War.  I’ve also read a lot about Red Queen’s War in the book blogging world. They’re both set in the same universe and the second series is set quite a while after the first. I figure that it would be probably good to start the first series first.

s-typeopts13

Riyria Revelations and Riyria Chronicles

Michael J Sullivan is another author who regularly comments/post at r/fantasy. He’s written three series. The Riyria Revelations, the Riyria Chronicles (which is the prequel to Revelations) and the First Empire. And I have no idea how the First Empire, his newest series, fits into this. I think it’s a separate series? Anyway, Riyria Revelations was previously a self-established series of six books, which were later republished traditionally in three volumes.

15839976

Red Rising

The Red Rising trilogy is the debut series of author Pierce Brown. It’s a sci fi series set on Mars, where the people are divided into colors. Darrow, a Red, the worker class, infiltrates the ranks of the Golds, the elites and plans to destroy the Society from within. I think this might be the shortest series in the list. Hoping to read this soon!

3227063

Night Angel Trilogy

Brent Weeks’s writing has often been compared to that of Brandon Sanderson, and is often recommended to people who like Sanderson. I’ve keeping an eye on the Night Angel Trilogy and Lightbringer for a while now. Lightbringer is still two books away from completion, so I’m be jumping into Night Angel first.

Worm/Parahumans

Worm is an epic web serial written by Wildbow (John Mccrae). It spans over 30 story arcs and each arc has around 8-10 chapters. It’s about 1.68m words long. For comparison, the entire series of Harry Potter books (well, first 7 books) is 1m words long. The story is about a girl name Taylor who has the power to control bugs in a world of superheroes. However, her first exploits in taking down a supervillain has painted herself as one and soon she discovers being a superhero is not as righteous as it seems. And in case you’re wondering, Malazan is 3.3m words long.

208

Long Price Quartet and Dagger & Coin

Long Price Quartet and Dagger & Coin are both written by Daniel Abraham. Who is Daniel Abraham? He’s one half of James S A Corey (the authors of Leviathan Wakes). He’s to George RR Martin what Guy Gavriel Kay is to Tolkien. Kind of. There’s been talk that if, God forbid, Martin dies before a Song of Ice and Fire, and he changed his mind to allow someone to continue it, and a dozen other ifs (like if Abraham was free), he would probably the one to continue the series. What that means is that his writing is of a similar tone to Martin. Definitely looking forward to read his work.

944073

The First Law

A series that consist of a trilogy and a few standalone works. It’s written by Lord Grimdark himself, Joe Abercrombie. As his twitter handle suggests, the First Law is a grimdark fantasy series. I’ve not explored a lot of grimdark novels, but… wait, wiki says aSoIaF is grimdark, okay I’ve read grimdark. So, yeah, the First Law is a pretty well-known grimdark series, and I’m eager to try it, especially Best Served Cold, which is the first standalone novel. It’s a tale about the revenge of a mercenary who is betrayed by her employers.

That’s ten series I want to start reading. Hopefully soon! Is there a series you want to read but haven’t? What topic did you do for the freebie week? Let me know in the comments!

23 thoughts on “Ten Series I Want to Read

  1. Ohh great list! I just read the first book in The Raven Cycle series, but I absolutely LOVED it and I can’t wait to read more. I hope you’ll feel the same way! I really want to read Red Rising as well, I keep hearing incredible things about it, it makes me want to read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really loved The First Law series. Sounds like he will be returning to that series for a new trilogy soon and I’m looking forward to it. I still need to pick up the recent short story collection too. Some of these series I hadn’t heard of and this list has put them on my radar now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know he’ll have a new trilogy in the same world. I really need to pick up my slack and read these before the new ones come. If you love First Law, I would recommend checking out Mark Lawrence. They’re said to have a similar tone and style.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

