Monthly Wrap Up: June

Hello, welcome to the second ever monthly wrap up for Watch Game Read. Caleb won’t be joining us today, as he’s been rather busy this month, so this will be more of Jamie’s wrap up then Watch Game Read’s wrap up. Anyway, let’s get started.

June - Watch, Game

Watch – Game of Thrones just ended this week! I love that the series is gearing up for the end. It’s reminding me a lot of the last three books of the Wheel of Time series. I hope the conclusion will be just as epic. I didn’t watch much else lately. Does the E3 press conferences count? Because I watched those. Haha. And I’m ashamed to say how many reactions to the conferences I’ve watched. In full. Yikes.

Game – I played Sid Meier’s Pirates! because of Uncharted 4. I just got so into the whole pirate thing and then I ended up playing Pirates! for a while. (The exclamation mark is absolutely necessary.) For those of you who don’t know, Pirates! is a game where you play a new pirate who aims to rescue his family from the Marquis Montalban and conquer the Caribbeans at the same time. Age of Mythology was also something I played because I was influenced by something else. This time it was the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. I had a craving for some mythology and went to check out AoM, which had a new expansion. Though I only played a few levels of Arkantos’s tale. Witcher: Blood and Wine was next on my list. It’s the last adventure of Geralt as he travels to the foreign duchy of Toussaint in pursue of the Beast of Beauclair who has murdered a few knights. Loving it so far, but I’m taking things a little slowly to savor the journey and take in the beautiful sights. Hearts of Iron IV is a grand strategy game set in World War 2. I played a few games as the German Reich and the United Kingdom, but have only played through one game. Hope to play some more, planning to try out the USA and Brazil next.

June - Read

Read – I read the rest of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series this month, namely the Sea of Monsters, the Titan’s Curse, the Battle of the Labyrinth and the Last Olympian. Really loved the series. Hope to read Heroes of Olympus soon. And if you’re wondering why the Titan’s Curse has a different cover, I just want you guys to feel my pain too 😛 The Thief who Pulled on Trouble’s Braids was the winner of last year’s Self-published Fantasy Blog Off. It was a different experience. I won’t say it was the best thing ever, but I definitely enjoyed it enough to consider reading the sequels. Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire were great! It was exciting to step back into Celaena’s world. White Sand was my first NetGalley read. I have a review here.

Also, a small announcement, I’ll start posting four times a week next month! I’ve actually done a few four posts week in the past few weeks, but this time I’ll try to hit them. Mainly because my post back log is getting huge with a ton of reviews I’ve written which just need some editing. I think I can hit four a week for the rest of the year. Not sure what next year will bring though.

That’s all from me for the monthly wrap up. See you next post!

10 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: June

  1. I’ve really been trying to get into Game of Thrones, and now that things have settled down, I really need to! I don’t know when I’ll ever get caught up with all the episodes and seasons, but I’m really excited 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed the Percy Jackson series. I’ve only got the last book of the heroes of Olympus left and I’ve really loved it.

    I need to get to the new Witcher DLC but I’ve started an internship so it probably won’t happen for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohh, yes, everyone’s obsessed with Game of Thrones, right? Hahah. I’m the black sheep here – I don’t really like the plot of the series, but I can understand the whole hype around it.
    I’m so glad you read and enjoyed all the Percy Jackson books. I’m obsessed with it as well. I hope you push forward and read Heroes of Olympus – although I don’t find it to be as good as the previous series, I think it’s very enjoyable as well! I recommend you checking the Magnus Chase book series. It doesn’t follow greek mythology, but is just as interesting!
    Look forward to read more of you during July!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, not everyone is obsessed, though a huge number of people are. I was actually hoping the sixth book would be released by now, but the series is all we have. Percy Jackson is awesome! I definitely will get to HoO sooner rather than later. I’m planning to get into Kane Chronicles and Magnus Chase too. So many books so little time 😦 Thanks!

      Like

    • It’s become one of my favorites too :D. I wish I had them all with the same style of cover, but I bought them on a sale, so at least I got them at a cheaper price. :/

      Like

What are your thoughts?

