Liebster Award

Thanks to the Well-Red Mage @ the Well-Red Mage, Av8tor1988 @ Inside My Minds and Speedy Sailor (Milo & Reuben) @ Stuff and That for nominating me for the Liebster award. It’s an online award given to newer bloggers as a way to welcome them (us?) into the folds of the super-secret society of blogging. I did a quick Google search and found that Liebster could mean nicest, dearest, kind, valued, cute, boyfriend (@_@), endearing and welcome among many other meaning. German is such a crazy language.

So here’s how it works:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and answer the 11 questions they’ve written for you.
  2. Give 11 random facts about yourself (optional)
  3. Nominate 5-11 different people with less than 200 followers and give them 11 questions to answer.

Q&A

(From the Well-Red Mage)

Q: DC or Marvel? (All that matters)
A: DC!!!!

Q: Favorite superhero?
A: Batman!!

Q: Favorite console?
A: At the moment PS4.

Q: Favorite video game?
A: Battle Realms. It was my childhood, really wish they had succeeded with their kickstarter. The Last of Us is also awesome!

Q: Favorite video game character?
A: Ellie from the Last of Us.

Q: Favorite film?
A: Star Wars and Juno.

Q: Favorite book?
A: Wheel of Time series.

Q: Favorite non-gaming pasttime?
A: Reading books or listening to podcasts (Kinda Funny and Writing Excuses mostly).

Q: Favorite thing about blogging and your blogging goals? (snuck in two!)
A: Writing and sharing my thoughts that have been trapped in my head for far too long. My goal is to write and share more of the thoughts that have been trapped in my head for so long.

Q: Favorite thing you find most inspirational in life?
A: Family and friends.

Q: Favorite thing about The Well-Red Mage? (shameless, hehe)
A: An awesome, frequently updated blog with a super awesome author (and multiple guest authors), but mostly the super awesome author who engages with his readers pretty awesomely too. Awesome.

(From Av8tor1988)

Q: Who is your least favorite Harry Potter character and why?
A: Umbridge, just ugh.

Q: If you could go to any fictional school, where would you go and why?
A: Hogwarts!

Q: What is your favorite non bookish thing to do on vacation?
A: Sightseeing, especially famous landmarks or awesome scenery.

Q: What time of day is your favorite to read?
A: Night time with the air conditioning on full blast and snuggled in my comforters.

Q: Coffee or tea?
A: Coffee, please. I’ve recently taken a liking to Long Black, cause that what adults drink. I’m totally a full-fledged adult and everything.

Q: If you weren’t a book blogger, what would you be blogging about?
A: Not technically a book blogger, but if I wasn’t doing Watch Game Read, I would probably blog about Liverpool FC.

Q: Do you keep a reading journal?
A: I keep notes on the books I read, but I won’t really say they are journals, so no?

Q: How often do you use Goodreads?
A: When I’m buying books, when I start and finish reading a book

Q: What is the best blogging advice you have ever received?
A: Ignore the stats and just be yourself. I’ve read this advice often, so I can’t remember where I first read about them.

Q: What is your favorite season?
A: I live near the equator, so none of the traditional four seasons. My favorite season here is the rainy seasons during the end of the year.

Q: If you could change the ending of any book, what book would you choose, and how would you change the ending?
A: I can’t really think of anything that I would change. The only one that pops up to me right now is Paper Towns. I love/hate the ending, so I don’t really how I would change it too.

(From Speedy Sailor)

Some questions were repeated, so I only answered the non duplicate questions.

Q: Favourite Genre of Music?
A: Don’t really have one. I guess I listen to a lot of video game soundtracks, indie and rock? But I’ve recently taken to Acid Jazz to pump myself up for Persona 5, back when I thought it was going to be released this year. Oh well.

Q: Favourite TV Show?
A: Game of Thrones.

Q: Favourite Band?
A: Don’t really have one either, but I’ve been listening to a lot of Against the Current, the Hush Sound and Bring Me The Horizon lately.

Q: Favourite Thing about Stuff and That? (To boost our egos)
A: Awesome people and awesome content!

Q:Least Favourite Thing about Stuff and That? (To humble us after)
A: I would say the background color, but I’d like to direct you to fact #10 down below.

Q: Why Did You Start Blogging?
A: To let the world know how smart I am, muahahaha. No seriously, I just wanted an outlet to share some of my thoughts.

Facts

1 – I’m finishing up my thesis for my postgrad program. Finally!
2 – I have a bachelor’s degree in the IT field, yet I’m still stumped by wordpress sometimes.
3 – I support Liverpool FC, a football club in the English Premier League.
4 – My first job was at a fast food restaurant.
5 – I’ve crashed my car three times in the last five years. So that stereotype about Asians and driving totally applies to me.
6 – My birthday will always fall on the same day of the week as the preceding Christmas and New Year. A useless fact that makes me feel special and that I’m proud of since I first realize it about four years ago. Took my twenty years to realize that…
7 – I’m about 170cm tall, which is slightly above the national average.
8 – I hope to become a full time writer someday. Most likely when I retire. *Sigh*
9 – I’m always broke. At least I feel that way. Gaming and reading can be rather expensive hobbies to maintain. Especially when you have to ship them over. 😦
10 – I’m red-green color blind. And before you ask, yes I know that color is red and that color is green. I just can’t differentiate certain shades of color. So if you’re thinking that the blog has bad color schemes, you can blame it on this and not, say, my artistic sense or anything like that.
11 – I was born in the Year of the Sheep! But it was the last month though, so most people my age actually have Monkey as their zodiac sign.

My Questions

  • What’s your favorite series?
  • Which fictional character would you like to have dinner with?
  • Which fictional universe would you prefer to live in?
  • What sort of role would you take in said world?
  • What’s your favorite period in history?
  • What’s your favorite quote?
  • Why did you start blogging?
  • What keeps you blogging?
  • When is your favorite time to blog?
  • When was the last time your mind is blown? What was it?
  • What’s the thing on your bucket list you want to do the most?

My Nominations

Ayustika @ That Bibliophilic Cauldron
Dan @ Dan Cross Book Blog

Grace @ kimmie.gg
imyril @ One More
Katrina @ Kaleidoscope of Books
Lauren @ Lauren’s Page Turners
Olivia @ Rainbow of Books
Sya @ Bookish Sya 
Windie @ Geek Apprentice
And anyone who reads this and wants to do this!

(By the way, if you guys have already done this or don’t want to do it, feel free to ignore.)

 

14 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thanks for the nomination!! Umbridge is a horrible character! I hate her too!! And GoT is my face tv program too! I need to catch up with season 6 though! I am about halfway through! -.-

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

