Ten Fictional Places I want to Visit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Ten Books set outside USA. Here’s the thing though, I don’t read a lot of contemporaries, and most of the ones that I do read are set in USA. I don’t feel like Middle Earth, or Hogwarts quite qualifies as outside USA. So instead, I’ll do a list of Ten Fictional Places I want to Visit.

Argonath

The Argonaths, the Lord the Rings

The Argonaths are the two giant statues of Isildur and Anarion that flank the river Anduin. It greets travelers as they sail into the lands of Gondor.

Rivendell, the Lord of the Rings

Rivendell is the seat of the Elf Lord Elrond. It is a small town hidden in a valley at the foot of the Misty Mountains. It sits at the edge of river Bruinen. Jackson’s films depict a waterfall town coupled with Tolkien’s tales of elven songs sung during evenings makes me want to visit.

The Shire, the Lord of the Rings

The Shire is the place that I want to stay after my retirement. It just feels so peaceful and looks so green and so cozy. I could just imagine myself sitting in a chair next to my hobbit hole, kicking back and puffing some pipeweed while reading and occasionally scolding at children running across my lawn.

The_Flying_City_of_Columbia

Columbia, BioShock Infinite

Columbia is a city floating in the sky. CITY. FLOATING. SKY. Though I would prefer to visit it sans war, religious craze and Comstock.

Hogwarts and Hogsmeade, Harry Potter

Hogwarts, ‘nuf said. I’m hoping I’m a wizard when I visit Hogwarts, so I won’t just be seeing an old ruin. Would be better if I was a little younger, so I would actually be studying there. Hogsmeade, the small town nearby, would so a fun place to visit. I would want to try butterbeer and buy a bunch of candy from Honeydukes.

The_wall_by_MarcSimonetti

Marc Simonetti’s Cover for the French Game of Thrones

The Wall, a Song of Ice and Fire

The magical ice wall north of the Seven Kingdoms is over 700 feet tall and 300 miles across. Of course I would prefer to visit during a time without wildling, wraith and walker attacks. Around the time Tyrion was there would be perfect.

Citadel, Mass Effect

The Citadel is the capital of the Citadel Council. It is a massive space station floating in the Widow System. At the center of the Citadel is the Presidium and the Citadel Tower, and spreading out in the arms are the Wards, which are basically cities.

Sunleth Waterscape, Final Fantasy XIII

The Sunleth Waterscape is a lush forested area in FFXIII. It’s something of a nature reserve. Plus the soundtrack was amazing there. If I ever visit the place, I’ll be sure to bring along the soundtrack to listen to.

Altissia FFXV

Altissia, Final Fantasy XV

Altissia is the capital of Accordo. It is a city on top of a waterfall with many canals crisscrossing across the city. It basically a fantastical version of Venice. Looking forward to exploring the city in the coming game.

Tar Valon / Dragonmount, Wheel of Time

Dragonmount is a volcano created when Lews Therin Telamon, aka the Dragon, killed himself. As a result, an isle was created nearby called Tar Valon. Tar Valon is home to the White Tower the seat of the Aes Sedai, a group of what are basically mages in the Wheel of Time world. A huge chunk of the Wheel of Time series revolves around the Aes Sedai trying to bring the Dragon Reborn under their control. Besides, Tar Valon is also home to one of the largest library in the Wheel of Time universe, though only a part of it is open to outsiders.

23 thoughts on “Ten Fictional Places I want to Visit

  1. I recently went to Universal Studios in Japan and totally visited Hogwarts/Hogsmeade (well, close enough). Butterbeer IS SUPER AWESOME. It’s non-alcoholic, which is great because if it had been alcoholic I think I would’ve gotten drunk – it was just really nice and sweet. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, you picked some beautiful places. I would love to just soak in the sights of those areas from The Lord of the Rings. And of course, Hogwarts and Hogsmeade are great. Luckily, we have the theme park to give us something like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The sights are definitely one of the best things about the LotR and Hobbit films. Is there a theme park for LotR? I know of the Harry Potter one, would love to have a chance to visit it!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

