Life After Post-Grad

So… I’m finishing up my thesis and preparing to submit it soon. That’s a whole lot off my shoulders. And I’ve decided to take a six month break. Mostly to just enjoy my life and FREEDOM before I plunge myself into the cold, harsh waters of society. And also because I’m not entirely confident in my thesis, so I’m thinking I’ll need that second half of the break to do any amendments. And last of all, I want some time to think about what to do with my life.

First up, I plan to have a short vacation at a beach about an hour’s drive from where I live. I’m planning to go alone to have some me time. My friends tell me that it’s a little “emo”, but eh, I think it will be good for me. I’m going there mostly to get away from the hustle and bustle of life in the city to find some peace and quiet. And to see a sunset at the beach too. Been a long time since I last saw one. And possibly go walk a jungle trial, though that might be a little dangerous, considering I’m alone. Won’t want a 127 hours situation.

Next, I will do a whole lot of writing during this time. I’ll probably never be this free again. I’m planning on doing at least 8,000 words per week, probably more. And I’ll take part in NaNoWriMo too. And I’ll try doing maybe 5,000 words a day on some random days throughout the six month period. I’ll finish up the novel I’m currently writing, probably finish the novella series I wrote for Camp NaNoWriMo too. Barring a major amendment on the thesis, I’ll probably be able to do it. And I’ll need it to, because I’ll be dedicating next year to revising. So I won’t be writing new stuff anytime soon after this.

I’ll also play a ton of games (hello, Final Fantasy 15, I am Setsuna and Pokemon Gen 7). I’ll probably finally finish Final Fantasy X too. Watch a ton of movies, anime and series too. I’m open to recommendations :D. I’ll also have a lot of time to finally dive into some of the big series I’ve been putting off. Malazan and Temeraire being the big two.

And blogging too. Tons of blog posts planned, will work on something for next year too. I might do a Wheel of Time reread, like the ones on Tor.com. Or maybe I’ll just do it for Malazan. Though that will be a read along instead of a reread. I think there would be less of an insight for Malazan, since I’ve not read it before and don’t know anything interesting that could be picked up on like foreshadowing. We’ll see how it goes.

Next comes the part where I get a huge headache. The way I see it, I have three paths set before me. Path A takes me down the workforce, earning a steady pay and working fixed hours. I’ll probably be stuck there until I’m 60. Not a lot of free time. Not an enticing offer, but it’s a stable life and it’s the social norm.

Path B takes me down the path of direct sales. I can’t imagine myself doing that, but a friend has recently offered to take me under her wings and teach me how to do it. It’s a nice job if you’re good at it. Pays handsomely if you’re good at it. The successful ones have plenty of free time on their hands, so plenty of time to write! Key point being if you’re good at it though.

And Path C, I earn a living writing! Yeah… Not gonna happen. And even if does happen, it’s not happening anytime soon. There is another possible path, which is to start a business with a friend. I have some vague plans in this area, but I don’t really consider them to be really feasible and certainly won’t be really sustainable. I’ll have six months to consider this. Whichever path I take, I hope I’ll find the time to write (and revise).

 

10 thoughts on “Life After Post-Grad

  1. Exciting! Thanks for sharing. Those decisions are always so hard, but I encourage you to follow the path that you think is right for you. Good luck figuring it out, because I know it’s still hard for me! And I wish you the best of luck in your thesis. I admire people like you who go through that process. It’s not easy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s definitely a difficult decision. I just hope I make the right one and don’t look back ten years down the road and regret it.
      The thesis was kind of a escape for me because I wasn’t ready to work. So nothing to admire here. Haha. It’s tough but it has flexible hours too which I really enjoyed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know that it was an interesting time for me when I was finishing up with graduate school and trying to figure out where I wanted to go next. For a long while before then, I had thought I would go into professional academics, but some experiences the final year showed me that wasn’t quite what I wanted, and then I stumbled upon my current path somewhat by accident, and yet it has proven to be quite fruitful.

    Ultimately, you just need to do what you feel is best for you, and I think taking time off is a great way to reflect and figure things out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had considered going into academics at one point, but I realize quickly enough that it’s not for me. What you’re doing is awesome, but I don’t think I’ll be able to do it. Haha.
      I have a feeling that I’ll need all that time to figure things out. Thanks for sharing 🙂

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this! I graduated earlier this month, and I am feeling kind of bad for taking the summer off to myself, going on holidays, enjoying my family and everything. I am glad I am not the only one, and happy you decided to share your thoughts and doubts with us. I have lots of these as well. It is scary. I hope you’ll find out what you want to do, and I wish you the best of luck for your writing and everyhing, hoping you will share some of it with us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t feel bad about taking a summer off. I’m taking half the year off. Haha. I think these doubts are common, doesn’t make them easier to go through though. One of the things I’m working on during my time off is to polish my writing. Hope I’ll have something presentable at the end of it. Thanks and I hope you enjoy your time off too!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, I one day the idea of serving with the military came up by chance, and it actually seemed like a good way to put my International Security degree to use. The funny thing is that after taking a commission and getting the training to do Intel work, the unit I was with at the time needed to send me to get trainingin personnel work to instead fill a greater need as their adjutant. Over time though it worked out well because in a period of seven years I’ve gone from unit command to personnel work to serving on my state’s general staff, and it’s been really great helping out local communities that have had disasters to recover and rebuild as well. But that’s definitely not for everyone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds like an amazing experience! Glad to see that it worked out well for you 🙂 It’s funny how life often seem to find a way at the end of the day. I guess that means I should stop worrying and just let life happen? Haha.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

