Book Review: the Titan’s Curse

The Titan’s Curse is the third book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series written by Rick Riordan. Percy, accompanied by his friends Thalia and Annabeth moves to save some half-bloods, however their attempt is thwarted by a manticore. Annabeth is lost in the battle (like missing and not dead) just before Artemis and her Hunters come in for the rescue. Artemis leaves her Hunters with the half-bloods and goes in hunt of a monster. However, she also goes missing and five members from the Hunters and the half-bloods are chosen to search for her. Percy, not one of the five, decides to tag along anyway.

Usually I reserve the one of the two opening paragraph for something about the author, but I don’t really know that much about Rick Riordan, and I’m probably going to read a whole lot more of his books. I really need to rethink this part of the reviews.

11361678

Italian Cover

The Good

The new myths involved in this entry is pretty interesting. There’s the General, who is a recently freed Titan who used to be in command of Kronos’s armies. There’s Artemis and Apollo, who are twin archers who represent day and night. The image of Apollo’s Sun chariot as a bus was humorous. Pretty disappointed that Riordan chose to turn Helios and Selene into gods who have faded, I always loved the trio of Helios, Selene and Eos. Artemis also has her Hunters, which might have been a Riordan addition, but as a concept, they were pretty cool. The actual members on the other hand…

The story also provided an interesting look at the half-blood heroes from an outsider’s perspective. We learn that some of the stories of heroes in the past aren’t as heroic as they seem. I really enjoyed this aspect of it.

There were a couple of new characters introduced within the first third of the book. Thalia was my favorite by far. She’s just so kickass and her relationship with Percy was a fun one to read about. Well, technically Thalia was introduced earlier, but we only really get to know her in this one. But her ending though… I’m just sad that she probably won’t be playing a big part in the rest of the series.

The Bad

On the other side of the coin, I wasn’t really that into Zoe and the di Angelo siblings. I eventually warmed up to Zoe as more of her story is revealed, but I still hated the way she talked. Breaks my reading flow a lot. And the di Angelo siblings? I really didn’t care much for them. There were some interesting parts to their tale, but I really didn’t relate to them well enough to feel the emotional impacts of the scenes. And Rachel Dare? Well, I know we’ll be see more of her soon, so I guess this was an interesting introduction to her, but couldn’t it have wait until later? I feel like we’re bombarded by new characters.

23156577

Romanian Cover going with the Ancient Greek vibe

Others

The characters in this book seem a lot more grown up in than the earlier books. I don’t know whether it’s because of the writing, or the way that they are described, or the fact that Percy is starting to develop feelings for Annabeth. Whatever it was, my mental image of the characters were now closer to the film portrayals of the characters, at least in terms of age, where as they felt more like Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets age in the first two books.

It’s also interesting that this story took place in winter, and not during the Summer camp. Which makes a little confused by the timeline. Is he 13 or 14 in this one? I know Battle of the Labyrinth takes place the summer immediately after, and he ends that book at age 15. And he starts the Lightning Thief at 12. So… I’m guessing he’s 14?

Lightning Thief – 12
Sea of Monsters – 13
Titan’s Curse – 14
Battle of the Labyrinth – 14 going on 15
Last Olympian – 15 going on 16

Let me know if my math is correct.

Verdict

I enjoy this one just as much as the previous two books. It’s an excellent and fun read.

What are your thoughts?

