Monthly Wrap Up: July

Hello everyone, how has July been for you? The first two weeks of the month were pretty easy going for me. I played a few games and managed to squeeze some time to watch two anime series somehow. The second half of the month flew by in a blur. I had some last minute stuff I had to do, so I spent most of my time on that. Had an overall bad reading month, which also translated to a very good gaming and watching month. 

july watch game

I found myself in the mood for some high school anime this month, so I finished watching Kokoro Connect, which I started a few months ago and watched Anne HappyKokoro tells the story of  a school club who are visited by a mysterious entity who tests their bonds of friendship, such as randomly swapping bodies or hearing each other’s thoughts. It was a little on the heavy side, with talks of relationship, family abuse and androphobia, which wasn’t exactly what I was looking for. Anne Happy on the other hand is a stupidly fun anime about a classroom of unlucky kids, whose education is aimed to help them with their bad luck. Zootopia is the story of a young rabbit trying to make a change by becoming the first herbivore cop. I loved it a lot and thought the issues dealt by it were pretty topical. Check out Caleb’s review of it here.

I played a lot of Pokemon Black this month while everyone is playing Pokemon Go. Only the Elite Four left to beat, hopefully I’ll complete it next month. Alongside, FFX and Witcher 3: Blood and Wine. I need to be more mindful of this. Romance of the Three Kingdoms 13 was another game I played a bit of. It wasn’t really satisfying, but it lead me down the path of Civilization V for some reason. Watching the Yogcast videos on Civ V certainly contributed too. I finally played Gone Home, thanks to PS Plus. It didn’t resonate with me. I think I’m about two years late to the train on that one and have seen better portrayals of LGBT in video game and better “walking simulators”. I also played a little of I am Setsuna. Didn’t played too much because I was rushing for a deadline on something else. I should probably have left it until I was done with that something else, but I just couldn’t resist.

july read

Mistborn Prime was a quick, fun read. It’s a draft by Brandon Sanderson before he wrote the current form of Mistborn. You can request it via the contact page on his website. I won’t share details about it because I’m not sure if I’m allowed. I had a hard time with Queen of Shadows, took me about three weeks to finish it. And this was before my deadline rush. Finally read the Raven Boys. Really enjoyed it, though a little confused/underwhelmed at the ending. Hopefully, I’ll get to the Dream Thieves soon.

Some housekeeping news:

1.) Caleb will be on hiatus for quite a while. His schedule is really getting to him so he won’t be able to contribute for sometime.

2.) I’m planning to test out a new format of blog post for movies and films starting with Suicide Squad. It will be more of a discussion rather than a review, where I discuss the movie with one of my friends. I hope you guys will like it.

3.) I have some stuff planned for September, which will be Watch Game Read’s first anniversary. It won’t be anything big, but I want to make a small occasion out of it 🙂

11 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: July

  1. Whoo The Raven Boys! I loved it and read The Dream Thieves soon after. Will read the rest of the series this month. 😀 People seem to either hate or love the later books by Sarah J. Maas. It’s weird how that goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s a lot of books between me and Dream Thieves now, but I’m tempted to bump it up the list 🙂 I don’t necessary hate it, but I think there is a shift in tone and certainly the name and relationship dynamics change played a role in that. At times I felt like I was reading a new book instead of a sequel.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a shame that it took you so long to read Queen of Shadows! Did you not enjoy it as much as the others? Also, I think in the whole time I have been reading your blog, I think I have seen one post by Caleb!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😂 When we started this blog, we would blog once a month, and then I sort of went crazy and he stayed with once a month, so one post is about right.
      I didn’t enjoy Queen of Shadows as much as the others but I still think it was a nice read.

      Like

  3. Everytime I see someone pick up the raven boys I get so sad and miss the series but knowing someone else is getting to read this series for the first time is real pleasure.

    I understand how you feel about the ending; the Dream Thieves was my favourite of the series. The endings as a consensus are a bit unwhelming but i love the story line and characters and relationships so much that it’s worth it to read the whole thing

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

