Ten Books I Would Buy if Money wasn’t an Issue

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You a Fully Loaded Gift Card. I’m not too sure what a fully loaded gift card means, but I’m taking this as Bill Gates handing me his platinum credit card and told me to go ahead and buy whatever I want. So here’s what I would buy if money wasn’t an issue.

31115463

Harry Potter Illustrated Series

Every Harry Potter fan would want this. Rereading the series while taking in the beautiful illustrations Jim Kay has done would be amazing experience. Thus far only the first two books have been released, the rest of the series are on their way.

29600224

Subterranean Press’s Ready Player One

Subterranean Press is a small publisher that usually deals with limited edition books. Most of them are sold out and would only be available on eBay. They have excellent cover art and also have interior art too. So you’ll be seeing a lot of them on this list. Ready Player One limited edition includes a new cover, interior art, a fan fiction by Andy Weir (the Martian) and an introduction by Patrick Rothfuss (Kingkiller Chronicles).

clash_of_kings_by_george_r-_r-_martin_volume_one

Subterranean Press’s a Song of Fire and Ice

Another Subpress book series with nice covers. Their cover arts give me more of a nostalgic feel and they have great interior art too. The bad things about this is that the books are split into two volumes, but since money is not an issue 🙂

erikson_b

Subterranean Press’s Malazan Series

Another Subpress book series with nice covers. I don’t really like the original covers, especially for the earlier books. These are pretty nice. I don’t think they have anything extra content though.

best_served_cold_by_joe_abercrombie

Subterranean Press’s Best Served Cold

Last Subpress book, I promise. This is another one with a nice cover, plus the novel has a great premise too. It’s part of the First Law world, but it’s a standalone book. Not a huge fan of the other subterranean press Joe Abercrombie covers, particularly the fonts, but this one looks awesome.

elb_front__14250-1449508740-900-900Elantris 10th Anniversary Edition

It’s a leather bound book with cool illustrations (including better maps) and more importantly, it’s the official canon. There are some minor changes in this edition, mostly fixing grammatical errors. There’s also the much expanded appendix, where Vax and Taldain are mentioned.  Also deleted scenes about the Mad Prince are finally in print!

tumblr_ndftnbific1qjhzvpo1_500

Looking for Alaksa 10th Anniversary Edition

This version of John Green’s debut novel contains deleted scenes, a Q&A with the author and a new introduction. Would love to get my hand on those deleted scenes.

891592

Temeraire Series

The Temeraire series has nine books. I haven’t gotten them yet, but it’s on my TBR. And nine books is going to burn a nice hole in my pockets. Subpress also have their version, but I think there are enough Subpress version on the list right now :). Besides I won’t mind getting the normal version of Temeraire as long as I get them.

15704307

Graphic Novels

I would definitely read more graphic novels if I had the money to do it. There are a few that I’m interested in. Saga and Y the Last Man among others. I might even get into long form series comic books or mangas like Batman or One Piece if I had the means to do it.

Complete All My Half Finished Series

As I mention in a previous post, I have a tendency to not own all the books in a series. I usually borrow them from the library or from someone else to finish reading the series, so those holes appear. That and the fact that my local bookstores tend to be a little behind with stocking their inventory. For example, I need the Amber Spyglass to finish His Dark Materials trilogy, Nicolae to finish the Left Behind series and Half Blood Prince for Harry Potter.

So what books would you buy if you had unlimited spending powers?

15 thoughts on “Ten Books I Would Buy if Money wasn’t an Issue

  1. Oh I’m so glad you like Looking For Alaska; there’s quite a lot of negativity but I really connected with it and it’s nice to see someone else who shares in the love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Temeraire is a crackin’ series! One of my favourites and I’m currently coveting the last book (if only the fully loaded gift card was real…). I mean, the Napoleonic era with dragons – what’s not to love? I actually have a copy of Ready Player One languishing in my TBR pile, I really need to get round to reading it!

    There’s some beautiful books on that list – great post!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

