Book Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth

The Battle of the Labyrinth is the fourth book in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. In this entry, the minions of Kronos are attempting to gain entry to Camp Half-Blood through the fabled Labyrinth that once held the Minotaur. The Labyrinth is not easy to navigate however, as it changes form regularly. Annabeth is sent on a quest to find the Labyrinth’s creator Daedalus, and persuade him to help them stop the army. She descends into the Labyrinth with Percy, Tyson and Grover. Grover believes that the lost god of the Wild Pan is down there somewhere.

Rick Riordan, well, he’s an author from Texas who now lives in Massachusetts. You know, I’m tempted to copy and paste the author paragraph from the previous Percy Jackson and the Olympians reviews.

11332415

Dutch Cover

The Good

Love the mythology as per usual. The Labyrinth is well described and I really can feel the danger of being trapped in it. Kind of reminds me of the Ways in the Wheel of Time series. I never realize that the creator of the Labyrinth was the same Daedalus of the Icarus story. Well, now I know :D. Beside Daedalus there are also a few new introductions to the series, such as Typhon, telkhines, Hekatonkheire and Kampê among others. My favorite of the new introductions – Calypso. Her story is really sad. Though sometimes I get the Pirates of the Caribbean visual stuck in my head when I read about her. Doesn’t really fit the Calypso of this book.

The eponymous battle of the novel was technically outside the Labyrinth. But it was a cool scene. It’s the first huge battle in the series so far. Let’s do a little Harry Potter comparison here. In terms of setting, this is like the Battle of Hogwarts, where the Dark Lord invades the school with his army. In terms of place in the story, it’s more like the Battle at the Ministry, where the Dark Lord launches his first attack and is revealed to the public. I mean, not that the gods did not believe Kronos has returned.

The Bad

Pan’s whole story arc was kind of anti-climactic. It was surprising to me, but not in a good way. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn’t what we got. I guess in hindsight, it makes sense, but that doesn’t mean I’m happy with it. I wish it had gone another way, though it did made Grover a little more useful than he has been so far.

Oh and Nico? Well, I officially dislike him now. He’s just an idiotic brat hell bent on revenge, and can’t see the facts when it’s slapping his face. Yeah, sure Minos is using his grieve to manipulate him, but I don’t know, I just wanted to smack him in the head. I guess I should give him a little leeway, seeing he’s still a kid and everything that has happened to him. Speaking of Minos, he’s a really, really useless side villain.

9483974

German Cover

Others

I like Rachel. She’s a quirky mortal who could see through the Mist, which obscures the mythical world from most mortals. We were introduced to her back in the last book, but this time we see more of her. I kinda ship Percy and Rachel, but I know it’s probably not going to happen. I know Percy and Annabeth is probably everyone’s favorite, but Annabeth… kind of has Luke. It reminds me a little of the Naruto-Sakura-Sasuke triangle in Naruto. Who knows, maybe it will end the same way.

Verdict

One of my favorite books in the series thus far. The plot was moving at a faster pace than usual and it really feels like it’s building up the speed into the next book. Looking forward to finishing the series.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Battle of the Labyrinth

  1. I can’t believe you don’t like Nico. I feel personally attacked. 😂 I know he can be a bit annoying in this book, but he goes through a lot of great character development later on, and he’s actually my favourite character from this series. 😃
    I personally also really like how the Pan story ended – I don’t know what you expected haha. I guess everyone likes different things. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now I feel bad 😦 Haha. I just really didn’t resonate well with him. He’s a major character in the sequel series, right? I need to get to that.
      I expected Pan to play a more important role than he did but in hindsight I guess what happened was thematically appropriate. It suited the story well.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

