Ten Popular Authors I’ve Not Read Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Top Ten Tuesday Rewind, where we go back to one of the old topics and do that. I picked Ten Popular Authors I’ve not Read Yet.

563199

Haruki Murakami

Murakami is sort of a literary novelist and one of the important figures in postmodern literature. His work includes 1Q84, Kafka on the Shore and Colourless. To be honest, I’m not really interested in his books, but I hope to give them a try. It’s fun to explore different genres and stretch out my comfort zone, plus literary fiction can sometimes be fun.

scottauthor_1200

Scott Westerfeld

Westerfeld is the author of the Uglies series and the Leviathan series. I’m interested in both, but I haven’t had the chance to get to him yet. Hoping to get to Uglies sometime soon. Oh, not to forget Afterworlds too.

31232

Steven Erikson

Erikson is one of the authors of the Malazan series (one of the huge epic fantasy series) and has a lot of fans on r/fantasy. I’ll be boarding the Malazan train soon. I hope I’ll ride it until the end.

8730

Naomi Novik

Novik is an author of an epic fantasy series. Temeirare spans over nine books. She’s not mentioned quite as much as Erikson on r/fantasy, but her name pops up a lot too. And come on, who could say no to dragons and the Napoleonic Wars.

25307

Robin Hobb

I’ve heard a lot of good things about Robin Hobb and her Realm of the Elderlings series, starting with the Farseer Trilogy. I’m still one book short of the complete first trilogy and will be sure to dive in once I find that elusive missing book. I bought both books in a secondhand sale, so I’m trying to complete it with another secondhand copy.

 

3377941

Rick Yancey

Yancey is the author of the 5th Wave series. The movie wasn’t really well received, but I still have interest in the book series.

3389

Stephen King

I mean, who doesn’t know who Stephen King is? He’s mostly known as a horror writer, but I’m more interested in the Dark Tower series and On Writing. There’s a Dark Tower film series in the work, staring Idris Elba and Matthew McConaughey.

767165

Pierce Brown

Pierce Brown is the author of the Red Rising series. They’re pretty well praised and he’s been nominated for the John W Campbell award. We’ll have to wait until Aug 20 to see if he wins. Either he’ll join the ranks of Stephen Donaldson, John Scalzi and Naomi Novik as winners or he’ll join George RR Martin and Brandon Sanderson as just finalists. Whichever way that goes, he’s in good company. Plus I have the first two books. Hoping to get to him soon.

281810

Jojo Moyes

Jojo Moyes is probably best known for Me Before You. Book blogs and booktubes love it. Film goers loved it. My friends has told me about it, even ones that don’t usually read. That’s got to mean its good right? I definitely want to read it, but it has slowly slipped off my “soon to read” list into my “will read someday” list.

4575289

Leigh Bardugo

Bardugo is the author of the Grisha Trilogy and the Six of Crows duology. I have the Six of Crows book seating prettily on my shelf waiting for me to get to it.

That’s ten popular authors I want to read soon. What about you? What popular authors do you want to read? Let me know in the comments down below.

 

48 thoughts on “Ten Popular Authors I’ve Not Read Yet

  1. I read my first Robin Hobb books this year! I really like her writing and stories so far. I want to board the Malazan train soon as well. He’s such a well-known fantasy author, especially on Reddit, and his Malazan series just seems epic.

    Great list! I hope you’ll get to read some of their works soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad to know that you like her! I hope I’ll come to love her too. All aboard the Malazan train! Haha. The talks about it being a tough entry really makes me worried I might hit a brick wall though. Hopefully the train will have enough steam to carry me up the slope.
      Thanks! I hope so too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any books by Haruki Murakami and Stephen Kings either. I’ve been thinking of getting IQ 84 for a while now. I’m not into horror books but a friend of mine told me that Stephen King’s books are usually psychological too so I might get them too! I absolutely love books by Robin Hobb too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 1Q84 really has my attention, especially after I heard that the name comes from Orwell’s 1984 with the 9 substituted with the Japanese pronunciation of the number.
      Stephen King’s horror feels intimidating, haha. I’m more interested in the Dark Tower series, which I think still has elements of horror but isn’t entirely horror.
      I really need to start reading Hobb!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well…still haven’t read Jane Austen 😀 that’s on my to do list
    You’ll love Robin Hobb
    Stephen King has something for everyone I think, so if you don’t like first book, try another decade or a bit other genre (yeah he writes horror but sometimes with a hint of something else) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read Austen too, but I think with all the variations/parodies I don’t think I could read it with a straight face.
      Everyone seems to love Hobb. I’m bumping her up my TBR!
      Thanks for the advice, I’ll keep them in mind when I read him.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Scott Westerfield, pierce brown and Leigh Bardugo are all on my radar, although I have to say they’re pretty low on my priority list at the moment. Scott Westerfield in particular is someone’s books I’ve been *meaning* to get to for a while but just haven’t LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have the Grisha series on my kindle waiting for me!! I also have the 5th Wave – also my kindle! I do really want to read Res Rising too! I remember reading the Uglies series in Secondary school, and I remember enjoying it! Maybe I should do a re read of them soon 🙂 great list

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I actually haven’t read many authors from this list too – Naomi Novik, Leigh Bardugo, Pierce Brown – but I am a Murakami fan! I’d say though that his books are definitely not for everyone. They can be quite hard to get into, and they don’t usually have conclusive endings. I’d say maybe pick up his short stories first if you really want to see what he’s like? Some of my favourite works of his are short stories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • I really like his ‘Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman’ collection – you can read the titular short story here. I also really enjoyed Norwegian Wood if you want an actual novel – I feel like that’s one of his easiest works to read and that’s the one I actually started with. I’ve also read 1Q84 (I see that someone else has mentioned it) but honestly wouldn’t recommend it if you’re not a fan, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! I’ll check them out. I’ve heard a lot about 1Q84 and seems like it might be a little intimidating. I shall put that off until I read other Murakami books first. 🙂

        Like

  7. I started The Lovlies series, but wasn’t really able to finish. I do want to give it another shot because I was going through a tough time really focusing on one book then. Jojo Moyes is getting so much hype these days, and I also really want to read her books. While in Korea, I saw a ton of her books had been translated into Korean and was being sold!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve got the Scott Westerfeld problem of having read his later work and not enjoying his earlier work so I would maybe suggest reading uglies and leviathan first.

    And you should get to shadow and bone when you can because it’s so fast paced and interesting and probably won’t take you long.

    But surprisingly, there’s a lot of authors on your list than I haven’t read either. No clue when I’ll fit it in though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I shall do that.
      That’s good to know. Bumping them up my TBR list 🙂
      That’s the problem with most bookworm, there’s just too many books to read and not enough time to read them all.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Stop everything you are doing and read Six of Crows. I love that book so much! I also haven’t read Pierce Brown, though I hear about him a lot. Also, Naomi Novik’s Uprooted is pretty awesome as well. I’d like to pick up more Stephen King, I’ve read Misery and Carrie and both were pretty good (better than the movies, obviously). Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ll try my best to get to it soon! Hoping to catch it before Crooked Kingdom comes out. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Uprooted. Maybe I should read that before Temeraire. I think Carrie, Salem’s Lot and the Shining are some of the good ones? Thanks!

      Like

  10. Great list! 🙂 I have yet to read the Red Rising series as well, but I’ve only heard great things about it, so I am excited. I hope we will both enjoy it! I have read one Murakami book a while ago, and I have to say it was a particular experience, his writing style is good though so I overall enjoyed the book. I hope you will try it out, and you’re right, it’s always fun to try out new genres 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Agreed with Red Rising. Hopefully we’ll actually find time to read it, haha. Which Murakami book did you read? I’m still a little hesitant to approach his work but I’ll get to it eventually. It’s definitely fun to try out new genres 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

