Ten Unread Books on My Shelf from Before I Started Blogging

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet. That’s a long title. I’m only counting the books from before April, after I started to blog actively, so this one was easy for me.

18161930

American Gods

American Gods is a Neil Gaiman novel about ancient gods in modern day America. I’ve actually started it once, but got distracted and felt that the book was a little slow going for my taste. I’m still interested to see what happens. There’s a TV series coming along too. Definitely want to give it another shot.

51rad0rmbql

Going Postal

Going Postal is a Terry Pratchett novel about a conman trying to rebuild a post office. This is another one that I’ve tried but gave up midway that I’m still interested in. There has been a movie made for it too.

59267

Amulet of Samarkand

Amulet of Samarkand is the first book of the Barmatheus series. I’ve heard a lot of great things about it, and I love Lockwood & Co which is by the same author, so I’m going to read it soon. I’m planning to start once I have the rest of the series on hand.

18626895

Assassin’s Apprentice

Assassin’s Apprentice is the first book of the Far Seer Trilogy by Robin Hobb. She’s on my list of must read fantasy authors too. And I have two copies of the sequel – Royal Assassin, which I bought by mistake, both from a secondhand book fair. I still need to get my hands on the third book.

9262919

Sailing to Sarantium

Sailing to Sarantium is the first book on Guy Gavriel Kay’s Sarantine Mosaic series. I also have the sequel Lord of Emperors. Just looking for a chance to read them. They’re set in a fantasy setting based on the Byzantine Empire, which is pretty unique in my opinion.

597790

Children of Hurin

I think I’m one of the rare people that found the Silmarillion interesting, so when Children of Hurin was released, I had my eye on it. Túrin Turambar, Hurin’s son was a pretty important character in the Silmarillion. He’s basically King Arthur/Jesus Christ, prophesied to come back in the Last Battle to slay the evil dude. I finally bought it just over a year ago, on sale, but I still have gotten to it yet.

2495562

The Wise Man’s Fear

The Wise Man’s Fear is the second book of the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. The only reason I’ve been putting it off is the fact that there’s no firm release date on the third book. I don’t want to read it and feel like the ending is still very far off, and it would be even worse if it was a cliffhanger ending.

1582996

City of Ashes

The City of Ashes and the rest of the Mortal Instrument series (minus Heavenly Fire) have been sitting on my shelf for quite a while. I read the first book and enjoyed it, but not enough to start diving into City of Ashes. And then, well, I got hooked by other novels and other series and haven’t quite looked back. I’ll probably get back to it someday.

29396

Furies of Calderon

Furies of Calderon is the first book in the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher. It’s been pitched as Pokemon meets the lost Roman legion. It has a fascinating premise and a great backstory to it as well. Haven’t had the chance to read it yet and the copy I have is falling apart.

780906

Wayfarer Redemption

The Wayfarer Redemption is the first book in the Axis Trilogy by Sara Douglass. I bought it as part of a spree of snatching up interesting Tor books on a secondhand book fair. Still haven’t read it yet, and probably won’t read it. I have the first book and second book (Enchanter) of the first series. So there’s another four books I don’t have and I probably will never be able to find in local bookstores and will have to ship it. Not too keen on that.

Thanks ten unread books that have been sitting on my shelf since before I started blogging. Have you read any of them? Let me know if I should prioritize any of them.

 

14 thoughts on “Ten Unread Books on My Shelf from Before I Started Blogging

    • Wow, haha. She must really like it. I liked the parts I read, but I got into a reading slump around that time and then I forgot the plot thread so didn’t continued reading it. I hope to get to it soon.
      That’s good to know!
      Thanks 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts?

