Book Review: Crown of Midnight

Crown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series written by Sarah J Maas. It is a series about Celaena Sardothien, a former assassin turn slave turn King’s Champion working for the King of Adarlan who sits on the glass throne. In this installment, she is set on a task to kill one of her former associates, Archer Finn who works as a courtesan. He is suspected to be part of a rebel movement against the king.

Sarah J Maas started writing Throne of Glass when she was sixteen. It was available to read on FictionPress.com, known then as the Queen of Glass. It is based on Cinderella, where Cinderella is an assassin and she’s attending the ball to kill the prince. She’s also known for a Court of Thorn and Roses which is really popular among book bloggers and booktubers. I’ve not read that one yet. Hopefully, I’ll get to it soon.

26157915

The Chinese Cover. Looks pretty cool, except for the English title interfering with the art.

The Good

The second half of Crown of Midnight was a rush of emotions as events happen in quick succession. So many twists and turns happen in the final third and a lot of the questions raised in the book were answered close to one another. A sign of a great ending. Many of the twists were easy to spot, but a few of them really blew me away, including the death of a certain character I thought was going to be around for the entire series.

It’s an improvement on the first book. There were more badass fight scenes and Celaena really does live up to her title of one the best assassins of Erilea. Some of the characters were also a lot better. I didn’t hate Dorian like I did with the Throne of Glass, where I was questioning why people were rooting for Celorian. I wouldn’t say that I love him, but I found myself looking forward to reading his PoV sections.

The Bad

While the second half of the book was awesome, the first half was pretty poor. I felt like the story went nowhere for a time. So many questions were being asked but I really didn’t see how it was going to come together. To be fair, not everything did eventually come together, but a whole lot of it did. There was also a huge focus on romance, which by itself wasn’t that much of an issue for me but I didn’t really liked Celaena and Chaol together, so those parts weren’t the most enjoyable for me.

Also, the whole thing about Celaena not killing her targets? I don’t really know what to make of it. It’s very much expected of her. I could see it from a mile off, even from the prologue. But at the same time, I felt that it weaken the “villainy” of the King of Adarlan. He’s supposed to be a manipulative, cruel ruler. The fact that Celaena gets away with it made him seem weak. Or maybe he’s just playing us all like a fiddle.

21845006

Dutch Cover. Is that a katana she is wielding? And what’s this thing with white/silver hair for Celaena on the covers? Or is golden hair actually that color?

 

Others

One of the first thing that I thought about the book was that the tagline was confusing. “Before she was deadly. Now she is unstoppable.” Feels like there’s a punctuation missing somewhere. I keep expecting “Before she was deadly, she was not so deadly.” or something like that. I suppose it should be “Before, she was deadly. Now, she is unstoppable.” It’s not really important, but it really got to me.

The characters are separated at the end of the book, excited to see how that would play out in Heir of Fire.  Hopefully Chaol will have what it takes to do the thing he needs to do.

PS: I also noticed that the words on the covers are actually slightly see through when I made the feature image for this post. Never would have known otherwise.

Verdict

Crown of Midnight is a step up from Throne of Glass. It is equal parts romance and action, with a little dash of behind the scenes political intrigue. Highly recommended.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Crown of Midnight

  1. I think the point you made about the King of Adarlan not being so ‘villainy’ is an interesting point; definitely something I didn’t pick up while I was reading CoM. I recently reread QoS and without giving anything away, I think maybe it has something to do with a plot element later in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

