Monthly Wrap-Up: August

Hi, how has August treated everyone? There’s four more months until the end the year. Time sure flies, doesn’t it? I’ve had an unproductive month. Just wasn’t able to put in the effort for a lot of things and was easily distracted. I guess that last week of rushing my thesis caught up to me. But, I did get to enjoy a weekend at the beach. Here’s some nice picture.

I tried to get a nice picture of the sunset, but I was thwarted by my lack of geographical knowledge of the area on the first day and dark clouds on the second. But hey, on the bright side, I thought the photos of the dark cloud with the setting sun looked very nice. Reminds me of the Way of Kings cover. All we need is to brighten the colors and plonk down a shardbearer in front.

Also, my #SFATW souvenirs from Lais @ harumansaebooks finally arrived! Super happy to get them. Meanwhile my package to her seems to be taking the scenic route, it’s traveled to England and the Netherlands for some reason. Hope she gets it soon.

cqedpsaviaa_zd3

And now to what media I’ve consumed for the month.

August - Watch

Suicide Squad was a disappointment for me. It had all the possibility of success but didn’t quite live up to its reputation. You can check out my discussion with my friend, Max, on Suicide Squad here. I watched Mankind: the Story of All of Us, which is basically a documentary on the brief history of humankind, starting from the time we first discovered fire to the atomic bombs. It’s interesting to see how mankind grew from separate areas and discovered the same things at around the same time. And it’s interesting to see how several cultures actually descended from the same one. For example, Normans and Rus both came from the Vikings. The Normans were also among the first Christian knights on crusade. Hence in a way, Crusaders came from Vikings. Sword Art Online Abridged is a parody of the popular anime series Sword Art Online. In this parody, Kirito is an asshole and Asuna is overly jealous yandere. It’s both funny and deep at the same time. For example, the incident that happen with the Moonlit Black Cats guild affected Kirito much more in this parody than in the original. And Kirito has a huge character arc too. Sadly, the series has been ongoing since 2013 and is only at episode 9. So it will be sometime before we see an ending in sight, even if they plan only to cover the first arc in the anime.

August - Game

More Civilization 5 goodness for me this month. I’m extremely pumped up for the upcoming Civ 6. I tried Minecraft for the first time this month. I liked it to some extent, but I prefer an isometric or 2d view for this type of game, something like Terraria or Zomboid. There’s just more information and precision in those views, I think. Rimworld and Prison Architect were two other games I played. One was about setting up a colony in a foreign planet and survive what nature and bandits throw at you, the other is a game about managing a prison. Both games are pretty similar in their execution though. You plan out and build your base/prison, do some research to expand your options, keep the people in your base/prison happy and pray that some random event doesn’t mess you up. Kingdom New Lands is a game where you control a monarch on an island. You need to build a settlement, destroy portals that spawn enemies and build a ship to get off it only to crash into another island. Each island is more difficult than the previous one. It was fun for a while, but I’m not a huge fan of roguelikes, so when I found myself back on the first island when I died, I just gave up on it.

August - Read

Valley of Embers is an exciting debut novel from Steven Kelliher. Check out my thoughts on it here. I finally read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and it wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be but it was still an enjoyable read. My thoughts about it will be coming soon. The Dream Thieves was pretty fun to read, it really got me to sympathize with Ronan. Vicious was awesome. It’s like the Prestige or Death Note mixed with superheroes in one nice package.

Those are the things I did for the month of August. What did you do for August? Which books did you read, games you played or movies you watched? Let me know in the comments below.

I’m excited to see what September brings. It’s Watch Game Read’s first anniversary! I’m planning a nice post to commemorate the occasion on 19/9. Hopefully I’ll be able to crank it up a notch and get it done in time.

6 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: August

  1. I also went to see suicide squad but I enjoyed it for what it was. I hated the joker because they just went too far. But I love Harley Quinn in the comics and I really enjoyed her in the film.

    I think my favourite book of the month was the wrath and the dawn and I also managed to read the rose and the dagger. I love duologies, they’re much easier to handle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the joker wasn’t that good too. Harley Quinn was awesome. Deadshot and her were the most enjoyable parts of the film for me. I think my expectations for it had something to do with my disappointment. I went in expecting for something like Deadpool meets Guardians of the Galaxy, but that just wasn’t it. I’ve that duology on my TBR. Duologies are easier to handle, but I like series I can devour, if I had the time to do it, which sometimes just isn’t possible.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those beach pictures are sooo beautiful!
    And I’m so happy you enjoyed my souvenir package. However, yours hasn’t arrived yet. 😦 I’m very sorry and I hope it doesn’t return to your country. I’m trying to figure out the reason and crossing fingers that I’ll get it soon.
    I am also very happy you enjoyed The Dream Thieves. It is my favorite book of the series, that’s for sure.
    And what do you mean you tried Minecraft for the first time this month? This is probably one of the most popular games on Brazil! We have SO MANY books, YouTube channels and anything that you could imagine related to Minecraft… It is weird to imagine that in other countries it isn’t that popular.
    I hope you have a great September, Jamie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      Ah, don’t worry about it. I’ll just resend it if it does return. I think it might be facing some issues in custom? Maybe the recent Olympics bog down the offices? Haha. Hope it’ll get through soon.
      Minecraft is popular in Malaysia too! I’ve seen tons of people mining away on laptops in my uni library. I just didn’t really gave it a try until now. There’s Minecraft books in my local bookstores too. It’s such a huge cultural phenomenon. I don’t think anyone can escape its clutches. Haha.
      I hope you have a great September too! 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts?

