Book Review: Heir of Fire

Heir of Fire is the third book in the Throne of Glass series written by Sarah J Maas. The story follows the Royal Assassin Celaena Sardothien as she is sent to Wendlyn to assassinate the royal family of Wendlyn and steal some battle plans. Once there however, her past catches up to her and she soon realize that she won’t be able to outrun it forever. Meanwhile across the sea, Chaol, the Captain of the Guard finds himself entangled in a web involving the Wolf of the North – General Aedion. The story so follows Manon, a witch of the Blackbeaks as they train with wyverns in preparation for war.

Sarah J Maas is the author of this series. It has been optioned for a TV series, so fingers crossed. She has cited Sabriel as an influence for her, and Celaena has been inspired by Arwen of the Lord of the Rings and Velma Kelly from Chicago. Arwen in particular was noted for her heroism, which only happens in the films, and that felt a little off in inspiring an author who wrote the character when she was 16 years old. And then I remember the Fellowship of the Ring film was released 15 years ago. 15! I feel so old…

Oh, and Empire of Storms is coming out in a few days!

27070333

I really love the Chinese covers for this series.

The Good

The scope of the series is expanded greatly in this book. There are three concurrent story threads running through this book and one of them could be argued as two separate threads. And the stories took place in three separate location. Which is was way different than the two previous books, which were took place around the Palace and Rifthold.

Training scenes!!! I love training scenes in fiction, especially when they were well done, as it was here. Celaena’s training with Rowan was irritating at first, I felt like I wanted to reach into the pages and smack them in the head and tell them to play nice. But the relationship soon evolved into something much, much more beautiful. I love that it wasn’t a romantic relationship, though there were hints. I hope Maas keeps it platonic.

A few new point of view characters are added to the mix. Sorscha, who is the nurse that took care of Celaena, Dorian and Chaol all those time they got injured, Aedion, who is Celaena’s cousin and general to the King of Adarlan, and Manon, who is an Ironteeth witch of the Blackbeak clan. They all provide interesting glimpses into the world that Maas has created, something we haven’t quite experience with the previous point of views.

The Bad

Chaol, Chaol, Chaol. I’ve never been the biggest fan of Chaol. I’ve always felt that he is the personification of all the parts I disliked about Perrin (from Wheel of Time) and Alistair (from Dragon Age: Origins). His indecisiveness and struggle with loyalty and honor felt a little dragged out to me. Maybe it’s because I felt that the decision should have been an easy and obvious one to make, instead we follow him around for the length of the book, helping the people around him but not exactly helping them at all. It took a huge event to force him into a decision and arguably the decision was forced upon him.

 

Others

I’m not entirely certain where I stand with Manon’s story. On one hand, it widens the scope of the story, kind of like what the Interludes in Stormlight Archive does. And like the Interludes, thus far, Manon’s story is only tangentially related to that of the main characters. It will probably merge in a later book, but for now it feels like a filler story, one that would probably have been better served in a novella. Don’t get me wrong, Manon’s tale by itself is a good one but I wanted it to be more connected to the main events.

Verdict

Heir of Fire is a worthy inclusion to the Throne of Glass series that serves to widen the scope of the world. At this point, I think that it’s my favorite book in the series.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Heir of Fire

  1. Ooooooooooooo…. It took me forever to read this book and I am so miffed that I didn’t pick it up sooner! Chaol irritated me too! I also really liked the training scenes 🙂 I can’t wait for you to read Queen of Shadows… Manon is definitely one of my faves! 😀 Empire of Storms comes out tomorrow and I am so excited!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Training scenes are the best! I really love Manon’s character. I hope hope she ends up among Aelin’s ever growing number of loyalists 🙂
      Empire of Storms!!! Still haven’t got it yet, but super excited 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts?

