Random Ramblings 12 – Myers-Briggs Type Indicator

Hello everyone! Hope you are having lovely Thursday. Today, I’m going to ramble about the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI).

What is MBTI, you ask? Sometime in the 20th Century, Katherine Briggs stumbled across Carl Jung’s psychological types and worked with her daughter Isabel Myers to create a way to identify people’s personality types, hoping that it would allow people to make better decisions and shade some light on the difference between individuals. Apparently, it’s often used by Fortune 100 companies. One frequently quoted number is 89 out of 100. However, there are misgivings about the use of MBTI in a business not least because a lot of businesses use MBTI to force their employees into certain roles without realizing that MBTI can be flawed and is not the be all end all of everything. It just a tendency rather than a certainty.

In MBTI, human personality is divided into four spectrums. And based on those spectrum, you end up with 16 different personality types. It is important to note that all four are SPECTRUMS. So you could be at slightly leaning towards one side or all the way to the end of it. I’ve heard one way of describing it as handedness. You’re naturally more inclined to use one hand over the other, but that doesn’t mean your other hand can’t work as well as your dominant hand. Especially if you work hard at it.

The first of this four spectrum is about where we focus our attention. Each end of the spectrum is called Introversion (I) and Extroversion (E) respectively. They’re pretty self-explanatory. Incidentally I’m 87% introverted. Go introverts!

The second spectrum measures how you take in information. Each end of the spectrum is called Intuitive (N) and Sensing (S). Intuitive means that you’re very imaginative, trust your gut instincts and hunches and you tend to look at the big picture when you take in information. You look at data to find patterns, analyze the meaning behind it and use it to speculate the future. Sensing means that you’re more likely to trust your five senses and the immediateness of the situation. You prefer concrete facts and data to back up your information. The journey is as important as the result. I got a 57% Intuitive score.

The next spectrum measures how you make decisions with the information you gather. The ends are known as Thinking (T) and Feeling (F). Thinking means that you like to step back and look at the situation, engaging your logic and rationality before making any decision. While Feeling means that you like to step into the situation, associating and empathizing with what’s involved in the situation, considering the needs of everything involved. I got a 62% Thinking score.

The final spectrum measures how you deal with the world around you. Each end is called Judging (J) and Perception (P). Judging means that you’re very organized and have a well thought out plan to deal with your responsibilities. Perception means that you tend to be flexible and good at improvising when needed. I got a 60% Judging here.

So in the test I took, which granted is not the original MBTI but rather a modified one, I was categorized as an INTJ. Which is good and all, except looking at the list of well-known INTJ people and fictional characters, I don’t think I’m an INTJ at all. I mean Tywin Lannister, Gandalf, Professor Moriarty, Elon Musk and Christopher Nolan. Yeah… This might be because the first spectrum aside, I’m pretty middling on the other spectrum. So I’m only just barely INTJ.

In any case, I think MBTI can be a good way to inform your decisions, but not to make that decision for you. However, one fun thing the MBTI can be used is to create characters for your fictional works. Take the MBTI test as your character as see how he or she should react to certain situation. Fictional characters tend to be more consistent than a human after all.

Anyway, that’s all from me, hope you enjoyed reading this brief explanation of MBTI. You can take a variant of the test here: https://www.16personalities.com/free-personality-test. If you do take it, I would like to know whether your personality type fits you or not.

 

11 thoughts on “Random Ramblings 12 – Myers-Briggs Type Indicator

  1. I heard a lot about this, and heard that it’s especially useful when you’re writing, to create realistic characters in all of their complexities and all. I have yet to try and make this work. Do you use this as well when you’re writing? 🙂 I love all kinds of personality test, and I did this one and I’m INFJ and I think it fits me pretty well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t actually tried it yet, but I’m planning to do it in the next novel I write. I think I’m really poor with characters, so this might help. Glad to know that if fits you 🙂

      Like

  2. I took this test a few months ago and I am an INTJ. It suits me perfectly. I am so much an INTJ, the person who asked me to take the test told me what the results would be before I took it. I will say that no one should live by the definition of Myers-Briggs alone, but for me, it explains a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad to know it describes you perfectly. Thanks for sharing. I think mine is off by a tad or two. If I think about it, I can see why I’m categorized as an INTJ, but I just don’t 100% feel like I’m one.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

