Monthly Wrap Up: September

monthly wrap upHello, everyone. How has your September been? The unproductivity bug still has me in its clutches. I had all these visions of what my six month break would be like and it has not been what I expected. I’ll be lucky if I complete 50% of what I had planned. Half of me is wondering if I’ve just over planned or I’m really that unproductive. In other news, Watch Game Read celebrated its first year anniversary with a nice post and a new theme!

In any case, I’m about 5,000 words away from finishing the first draft of my eighth novel! (Three of the other seven are unfinished and the rest are still in their first drafts. I’m not much of a reviser.) As far as I can tell, this one will need a ton of revision to get it right. There’s a few important character details that I couldn’t quite nail, and while I’m overall satisfied with the plot, the character changes will influence the plot, so I may have to rewrite the entire thing. We’ll see in about four month or so. After I’ve let it rest for a while. In the meantime, time to start plotting novel #9 for Nanowrimo 2016!

monthly-review-watch

september-watch

I watched Fellowship of the Ring. All four hours of it. I planned to watch the Two Tower and the Return of the King, but I was too tired to continue and the next day I just didn’t feel like it anymore. Finally finished watching Stranger Things, a Netflix original with 80s sci-fi/horror feel to it. I get why people love it, but personally, I didn’t think it was as good as it was hyped out to be. New Game is an anime about working in the video game industry. Honestly it’s not really in depth and more about general working/the slice of life surrounding video game development. If you’re expecting Bakuman or Shirobako, you’ll be sorely disappointed. But I was aware of what I was getting into, so it was an enjoyable ride for me. Re:Zero Starting Life in Another World is an anime about a guy who gets transported to a fantasy world and he has “save points”. Every time he dies, he wakes up at the save point, so the anime is about him trying to figure out how to prevent his various deaths. I think it gets old after a while. Reminds me of the Endless Eight episodes from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Still haven’t finished this one yet, might or might not try to finish it.

monthly-review-game

september-game

I played a bit of Rome 2: Total War, after getting caught up in some history YouTube channels. LindyBeige and Extra History if you’re curious. I have a tendency to get influenced like that. I played as Carthage on easy, crushed Rome and was bored of the game. Bad on my part, since I played on easy, but I was too lazy to start another game. Crusader Kings 2 naturally came next. I tried to reform the Roman Empire but the new (to me) threat system and defensive pacts just made it more of a chore than it already was so I gave up soon after. Messed around with the new Sims 4 game pack, Dine Out. It was fun to run a restaurant, even if it’s not as in depth as I’d wished. Managed to score a four star before three Sims came in and died one after the other, with the Grim Reaper arrival just ruining the whole day. I’m sure my restaurant’s reputation is tarnished after that one. I managed to try out the FIFA 17 Demo too. The startup is a disaster on my PC. Freezes a hell lot, but once the game is started, it’s smooth though. Hope it doesn’t happen with the actual game. If I do buy it. Still haven’t decided. On one hand, I planned to buy FIFAs every two years. On the other, I’m super intrigued by the Journey mode, so much so that I’ve begun playing a new player career mode in FIFA 16.

Another game I played was Turmoil. It’s a game about oil drilling where you fight with other AI players to become the mayor of the town by buying shares. It’s fun while it lasted and I think it’s still being updated with new content. Sheltered is a survival game where you control a family of four to scavenge, craft and hunt to survive in a post-apocalyptic environment. It’s like War of Mine and scratches an itch I was having. I’ve put this aside for a while, but intend to go back once I have time to really sink my teeth into the system. Speaking of putting it aside. I still have to complete Witcher 3: Blood and Wine, Pokemon: Black, TellTale’s Game of Thrones, Rise of the Tomb Raider, Final Fantasy X, I am Setsuna and a bunch of other games I had intended to finish during this break. All of them are story intensify games or requires grinding, which I’m just not able to focus on right now. The games I’ve played recently have all been plug and play, with little need for me to remember details.

monthly-review-read

september-read

I started this month well enough. Made some head way into Gardens of the Moon. It’s slow but expected, as I have to be in front of the computer to read it, to make sure I get down my thoughts right away. And I have a tendency to be distracted from reading when I’m in front of a PC… We Were Liars and Empire of Storms were finished in about a week and a half of September. And I was feeling the momentum going strong, and then I just sputtered out when I read Blue Lily, Lily Blue which I enjoyed, but still took me the rest of the month to read. The thing about the Raven Cycle for me is that I love it because of the character and not the plot, which is why I’m never in a hurry to finish it to find out what happens next and just take my time to kind of “spend time” with the characters. At least, that’s my take on it.

And that is how September has been for me. Have you fared better than me? What movies did you watch? What games did you play? What books did you read? Let me know in the comments down below.

14 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: September

  1. I went back to the batman games this month and really enjoyed myself. I also went to see Kubo and the two broken strings, I know it’s meant to be a kids film but it’s so beautiful and interesting and I would recommend it to anyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on almost finishing another first draft, that’s awesome!! I’m not much into revising either, I just CAN’T seem to bring myself to do it, haha, it emotionally exhausts me just thinking about it. I much prefer the thrill of writing the story for the first time and seeing where it takes me. That’s awesome you are doing NaNoWriMo this year, best of luck for it!! 🙂
    I agree witth you about The Raven Cycle series, I love it so much because of the characters, and I love to spend time with them a lot, they are just all so well crafted! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard really good things about Re:Zero! And New Game seems interesting to me. I’ve mostly been chugging (grinding really) through Dragon Quest VII, but I also got to play through Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney – Spirit of Justice, the latest in one of my favorite game series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too, but it has really caught me yet, but I’m still in the first few episodes though. I’ve only played one Phoenix Wright game on DS, but my DS died before I could finish it. It will be one of the games I planning to try if I do get a 3DS.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on (almost) finishing your novel, Jamie! Even though they are just drafts, it is still impressive how you can take time to write so much. Although I have great ideas, I keep plotting and plotting and never really write anything, hahah.
    And I have to admit I feel just the same about The Raven Cycle. The plot is very confusing to me (I’m not used to fantasy or magic systems), so I tend to be more connected with the characters, not wanting the book to end.
    By the way, I hope you have a great October! 🙂

    Like

What are your thoughts?

