All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation

ttt-book-recommendationsTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different topic where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the topic.

This week is All about Books You Read Because of Recommendations. 

113436

Inheritance Cycle

One of my friends from a youth group recommended Eragon to me and I recommended the Wheel of Time series to him. And we swapped the first books to each series. I finished the Inheritance Cycle but he never did finish Wheel of Time :/ Oddly enough, one of his complains was that the beginning of the Wheel of Time series was too similar to the Inheritance Cycle. Funny how things work.

tumblr_ndftnbific1qjhzvpo1_500 Looking for Alaska

I was recommended by one of my college friends to read Looking for Alaska. I had watched the vlogbrothers before, but never realized that John Green was an author. I liked his videos, so I decided to pick up the whole set of books when it was on sale. Really love them 🙂 Plus, now I also watch his gaming channel to watch him talk about his writing and publishing experience.

6437061

A Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

This is one of the books that Brandon Sanderson recommends regularly. It’s written by NK Jemisin. I really wanted to like it, but ultimately I had issues with it. The relationship between Yeine and Nahadoth in particular bothered me and it was a huge chunk of the book. I like the other parts enough that I finished reading it. I’ve heard the sequels are set years later and features different main characters, so I might actually read it. But at the moment, I’m planning to try the Fifth Season first.

15790883

Promise of Blood

Promise of Blood is the debut novel Brian McClellan, who was a student under Brandon Sanderson, where I learned about the series from. Promise of Blood is a flintlock fantasy novel where a field marshal organizes a coup d’etat against the king. The tagline of the Age of Kings is dead… I killed it plus the cool cover with the Pierce Brosnan lookalike just sealed the deal for me. I still need to read the sequels and I think there’s an upcoming sequel trilogy too. I’m SOOO behind.

21570677

If I Stay

I read If I Stay because John Green recommended to anyone that loved Looking for Alaska. It was good. I really love the limbo thing Mia was experiencing, but ultimately never connected with the characters well enough to read the sequel. Plus, the sequel was written from Adam’s perspective as he tries to win Mia back.

30232076

The Thief who Pulled on Trouble’s Braid

Not so much a recommendation as the winner of the first #SPFBO (Self Published Fantasy Blog-Off). #SPFBO is a competition organized by Mark Lawrence where bloggers read self-published novels and pick their favorite. I was planning to go down that list, but thus far Trouble’s Braid is the only one I’ve read. I really enjoyed it and plan to read the rest of the series sometime soon.

18616975

Off to be the Wizard

Off to be the Wizard is a book that was on the Writing Excuses Book of the Week recommendation. The premise of a hacker managing to discover the source code of the world really hooked me. He manipulates it to become a wizard and move back to the medieval era to make the best of his new found powers, only to discover that he’s not the first one to do so.

17378527

The Raven Cycle

The Raven Cycle is a series that I picked up from so many recommendations from the blogging community. I haven’t heard of it before. And I’m glad I did. It’s one my favorite series right now and the characters are the highlight for me. Just the Raven King left and it’ll be over for me. Which makes me both happy and sad at the same time.

vicious

Vicious

Vicious is another book I picked up from recommendations from the blogging community and booktube. I’ve heard of Schwab before, but wasn’t sure where to start, but a standalone about superheroes was perfect for me. I’m excited to read more Schwab books, plus Vicious is going to have a sequel 🙂

erikson_b

Gardens of the Moon

The Malazan Book of the Fallen series is also another fantasy series that I’ve seen recommended on a lot of websites and forums. It’s certainly quite popular in the fantasy subreddit. I’m currently reading this one, and it’s a little slow in the start but I’m excited about what’s going to happen in the rest of the book, which is always a good thing.

Those are ten books that have been recommended to me, which I’ve read and enjoyed for the most part. Have you read any of the books above? What are your thoughts on them? Do you often read a lot of books that are recommended to you? Let me know in the comments down below!

34 thoughts on “All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation

    • I think she’s a great writer, it’s just the relationship between characters in the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms that turned me off. I’ve heard that the Broken Earth series is better, so I’m going to read that next from her. She recently quit her job and started a Patreon which hit about USD 3,000 in a day. That’s pretty impressive.
      I know the feeling. There’s just so many books that are highly recommended and so many of those that I want to read but don’t have the time 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I also picked up The Raven Cycle based on recommendations from the blogging world. I don’t think I would have picked them up otherwise, but I’m so glad I did because it has become one of my all-time favorite series! Also, I really want to read Vicious! V.E. Schwab is one of those highly recommended authors and I just started with A Darker Shade of Magic (which I loved) so now I want to read all her books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so amazing! I can’t wait to read the Raven King. Vicious is great! The plot, the character, the setting, the writing, I can’t recommend it enough! I’ve not read A Darker Shade of Magic yet, but I’m hoping to get to it soon. Vicious made me love Schwab’s writing. Can’t wait to explore more of her work!

      Like

  2. Lots of good books on here that I still need to get to! It’s just so easy to get sucked up into the review book mouse wheel isn’t it that you end up putting all your own books to one side! I need to make more time somehow.
    I definitely recommend the Ben Galley book from last year’s SPFBO – Ben came second and his book Bloodrush was also really good.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s really amazing! If all goes according to plan, I think. But they might have some issues with it. Hopefully we’ll get to see it next year though. I definitely teared up when you-know-what happened 😦

      Like

  3. I’m so behind on reading Adult Fantasy novels >.< The covers of all of these look FABULOUS and your comments are really helpful! I've had the Broken Earth series on my GR TBR for AGES, so I'd love to hear what you think of it! ALSO VICIOUS – need to get my hands on that book, but the cover you have is spectacular! I don't think I've seen that particular one used before? Nice post! 🙂

    Like

  4. *FLAILS BECAUSE THE RAVEN CYCLE* 😍😍 That is my ultimate favourite series in the history of ever!! I know a lot of people were slightly disappointed by The Raven King but pfft IT’S PERFECT. I hope you enjoy it! And YES to Vicious. I’m sure I discovered that because of the blogosphere. So thank goodness bloggers get so noisy about their favourite books.😂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, I picked it up in a library on a whim and I still think about the book, that was the day the library finally agreed to make me an adult card holder because there was no ‘kids’ book left for me to read. The joy of being 15 and a book nerd. I never continued on because my library never had the sequels and then no book shop had them, I finally got a hold of them but they’ve just been on the back burner and I always look at them longingly but I just can’t find the motivation to read the first one again because I’m so bad at rereading books but it’s been about 5 years so I have to!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, how many “kids” book were there? You must have read a ton if they left nothing left for you!
      I actually enjoyed parts of the book, but I wasn’t looking forward to reading about the characters again. I’m told that the sequels focuses on different characters so I want to give it another shot. I get that feeling too. Which is why I still haven’t read the sequels yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was quite a small library so it was only about 100-200 books and I used to read a book or more a week so you get through them quite quick

        Liked by 1 person

  6. They stopped reading because the beginnings of Wheel of Time and Eragon are too similar… seriously? The beginnings of 90% of all fantasy novels/series are the same, it’s called the hero’s journey and that is one of the main reasons why people read them – because they enjoy the hero’s journey.

    And on reading Gardens of the moon, all I have to say is good luck 😛
    It is an amazing book once you get to though the first few hundred pages. I also read it on a recommendation and it was totally worth it in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know right? Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, the Matrix, they all follow the Hero’s Journey. But I guess they just wanted something different.
      Haha, I’m going at it SUPER slowly. I just finished the first part and was ready for to roll, and the first chapter of part two just dumped a whole lot of new characters on me and I felt like I was back on square one again! It does interest me to see what happens to the Bridgeburners though, so I’m definitely going to continue reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

