Horror Novels I Want to Read

horror-novelsTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Halloween related freebie. I don’t read a lot of horror novels, so I decided to find a few horror novels that I would like to get to someday.

11467079

I am Legend

Richard Matheson’s vampire hunting novel has been adapted to a few films and has been influential in many zombie movies like Night of the Living Dead. Though many agree that none of the film have done it any justice. This is also the novel that was given the Vampire Novel of the Century Award at the 2011 Bram Stoker Award. That sounds like a pretty prestigious title to live up to. It’s made me really interested.

7617119

I am not a Serial Killer

I’ve read most of Dan Wells’s books, but his most famous work is one that I’ve yet to get to. I Am Not a Serial Killer is the first book of the first John Wayne Cleaver Trilogy, where a sociopathic teenager investigates a serial killer with whom he feels a connection to. Apparently there are supernatural elements to it, which might turn some people off. Also, there’s a movie adaptation that has limited theatrical release.

15730101

The Call of Cthulhu

HP Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos is one of the most influential body of work in horror fiction, and where else to start than with a story about the old god the mythos is named after. The Call of Cthulhu is a shorty story so it shouldn’t take too long to finish it. Not sure why I haven’t gotten to it yet. Maybe because I’m afraid I’ll get sucked into the mythos and spend countless hours reading through wikis. Yeah. Let’s just say it’s that.

11588

The Shining

The Shining is one of Stephen King’s earlier works and is often brought up when it comes to talks about his best works. I’ve never watched the film either, but I’m really intrigued by this book in particular. Maybe because of the way it’s talked about, or the memes with Jack Nicholson’s face through the door. Or maybe because Joey put it in his freezer…

228053

Red Dragon

Red Dragon is the first novel to feature the charming cannibal Hannibal Lecter. I’m very intrigued by the character of Hannibal Lecter. He’s often cited as one of the best villains in film and literature, so I’m very interested in the novels he’s in.

2213661

The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book is a Jungle Book retelling by Neil Gaiman, featuring a boy named Nobody Owens who is adopted by the supernatural denizens of the graveyard. Not sure how terrifying it can be, since it’s a children’s novel. It is one of Gaiman’s more popular books, so if I fail to get into American Gods again, this will be the one I try to read.

23922381

The Creeping Shadow or Lockwood #5

I’ll have probably read or be reading the Creeping Shadow when this post comes out, but the Goodreads blurb tells me it has a cliffhanger ending… So either I’ll be anticipating Lockwood & Co #5 or I’ll be cursing myself for reading a cliffhanger book. Either way, Lockwood & Co is a very good series that I would recommend to anyone. It’s technically horror, but it’s not really terrifying.

That’s all from me. I’m not a huge horror fan, but I’m not against it either. It’s just something I don’t actively seek out. But I also feel like I want to read a wider variety of books, so let me know your thoughts on these books and suggest me some to read in the comments down below.

15 thoughts on “Horror Novels I Want to Read

  1. Nice list! I’m not usually one for books without pictures in it but I read I Am Not A Serial Killer and quite liked it. It really tapped into my dark sense of humour. Quite similar was Grasshopper Jungle, which is one of my favourite books, I recommend that one if you haven’t read it already.
    Milo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your entire list, and I’m even more astounded to see a book that I didn’t know existed! Jonathan Stroud is one of my favorite authors, I can’t believe he wrote a book series that I had no clue about. On your suggestion, I’ll have to check it out 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The Graveyard Book is one of my favourite Neil Gaiman – melancholic yet hopeful, and I love his inspiration around it! I hope you’ll enjoy the book. I have watched so many Stephen King inspired movies but sadly have not read enough of his books, hope to change that soon!

    Like

    • Good to know! I’ve heard so many good things about it 🙂 I’ve actually heard that the movie is quite good but that it does deviate from the book a lot. There’s apparently talks of a prequel that focuses on the Overlook Hotel. Would be interesting to see what they do with it.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

