NaNoWriMo Burnout | From the Writing Desk: NaNoWriMo 2016 #3

nanowrimo-burnoutHello everyone! How has your week been like? And wrimos, what’s your word count like? I hope you’ve managed to keep apace and everything is going well for you. We still have two more weeks to go before the end of the month!

So let’s talk about… something. I was planning to write about what I’m working on, but I still don’t feel comfortable enough talking about it, so I’m pushing that off to next week. And since that topic is shelved for now, I needed something else to talk about.

I thought about talking about how to win NaNoWriMo, but it felt odd to do it in the second week and it just didn’t feel right to me, seeing I’m in a bit of a productivity dip right now.

Productivity for me has been at an all time low for this past week. The worse I’ve been in quite a while. I hit 25,000 words for NaNoWriMo on November 7 and have only written another 2,500 words since. Which is pretty bad considering it has been almost a week. I think I overdid it during that first week and am now suffering from a little burnout. I still try to write everyday, but the words just won’t appear on the page. I managed about 500 words on most days this second week. I had expected a drop to happen but this was way more than I thought it would be. Way, way more. Still, at the moment, I remain above the required word count goal for 13 days, so I’m not entirely worried. Yet.

NaNoWriMo isn’t the only thing that’s taken a hit. I was planning to go back to my regular blogging schedule this week, but I’ve only managed to publish two posts, including this one. I had two other posts I prepared from last month, and all I needed to do was to edit them. But I couldn’t concentrate long enough to read through them. I would just glaze over paragraphs and realized that I’m letting the errors slipped right by me. And then I would just get demotivated and do something else.

Aside from that, I’m in a bit of a reading slump. I thought I’d read some books since I wasn’t writing a lot, but books were a little hard to digest too. Same thing with the blog posts, I would find my brain drifting away while I scan the paragraphs and flip the pages without really taking anything in. So I gave up on that too.

The only thing that I’ve been able to do really do is watch YouTube videos and read reddit threads. I’ve been trying to get into a new grand strategy game but my brain just refuse to absorb new information at the moment. Even playing through Episode 4 of the TellTale Game of Throne series was a chore and that was likely the only real progress I’ve made this week. Even my hours with Civilization 6 have dipped, with me only playing with friends and giving up on single player all together.

And I have a lot of other stuff that I actually need to get done too. *sigh* Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up some slack in the coming weeks, win NaNoWriMo, complete my tasks and get back to regular blogging.

That’s all from me today, I should probably get back to writing. I hope that all of you NaNoWriMo participants have done better than me this week and as always, happy writing!

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Burnout | From the Writing Desk: NaNoWriMo 2016 #3

  1. I totally get this. The last few days have been pretty good for me as far as tallys go. But a couple days here and there, the actual content has been really bad for me, and I’ve had to go back and edit so that it still makes sense. There are times in my house when it’s just plain too loud or crazy for me to get any writing done, so I’ve had to just accept that my word count will go up and down from day to day. Hope your creative power comes back!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your kind words. It’s just that the drop took me by surprise. And that just lowers motivation even more. I’ve been picking up steam again, so it’s looking good 🙂 I sometimes go back and edit too, even though one of the advice often given is to shut off the internal editor. But I just can’t let it slip by. Glad to see you’re doing well for the past few days and hope you’ll have more of the same 🙂

      Like

      • Thanks. You, too! 🙂

        Yeah, I just can’t “turn off” my editor. If I let something slip, it means I’ll get further into the story and realize something isn’t adding up, and it disrupts the flow of my writing. I need to go back and correct it, so that the flow feels more right again.

        Like

  2. Jamie, don’t feel pressured! All of us go through some productivity slump sometimes, but I’m sure you can go through it!
    Everyone says that the second week of NaNoWriMo is the most difficult, because you still have a long way to go – which is intimidating -, and you’re not that motivated anymore. But I actually think it is okay for you to just watch YouTube videos for a while.
    During my vacation period, back in July, all I could think about was how “unproductive” I was. But when I look back to it, I realize I had actually done a lot! Writing only 500 words is okay – it is more than I ever wrote, to be honest, hahah.
    I hope you cheer up for next week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That does make sense. My motivation is gone for sure but I’m slowly picking up the pace again, so things are looking good 🙂 It’s not that I was watching YouTube a lot, it was that it was ungodly amount of hours spent there, haha.
      I guess what they say is true, hindsight is 20-20. I just hope I’ll feel the same way once November is over. Doing the wrap-up for the month will be interesting 🙂
      Thanks again for the kind words, Lais.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

