Ten Favorite Movies

ttt-movieTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Movie Freebie. I chose to do ten favorite movies.

mv5bmtgxmjgymtcynf5bml5banbnxkftztcwmdg1mtu1mq-_v1_

Juno

Juno is a charming indie film written by Diablo Cody. It was her first screenplay and she won so many nominations for it. And a lot of the charm of the film comes from the screenplay. Ellen Page and Michael Cera helped too. The dialogue was quirky and funny, I could rewatch it a million times and still find something new to laugh at. The scene at the convenience store when Juno is doing a pregnancy test and the scene where she talks with Leah through her hamburger phone are just two of the best repartee ever.

mv5bzgezztexmdetnjg4oc00njqxltk5ntutnjrknja3mmywzjg1xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymtqxnzmzndi-_v1_sy1000_cr006331000_al_

Star Wars

The Star Wars franchise is just so epic, even the Prequels. Granted, I’m one of those kids that watch the Prequels before the Original. Super excited that they’re doing a film every year now, I just hope that they’ll all be worth watching. I know a lot of people say that it’s scifi, but I still think that a more appropriate term to label it is space fantasy. My favorite film of the series is Empire Strikes Back.

mv5bnteymjawmdu1ov5bml5banbnxkftztcwndqyntkxmw-_v1_

The Lord of the Rings

I love the Lord of the Rings series (not the Hobbit films though). I watch the films before the books, and I actually love most of the changes made from the book to film. Aragorn’s self-doubt, Arwen’s increased role, Elrond’s doubt are all additions to the films. There are a few I don’t like as much though, like Faramir’s arc and the undead army. My favorite film of the series is actually the first one, the Fellowship of the Ring.

mv5bnjq3nwnlnmqtmte5zs00mddmltlkzjutztblm2uxmgfimtu3xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynjuwnzk3ndc-_v1_

Harry Potter

I read the books before the film. I think the film was already out then, I just hadn’t seen it yet. And I was super stoked the see it. I was super disappointed that things were cut from the book to the film. It was one of my first experience of book to film adaptations of books that I loved. But once I embraced it for what it was, I love them all. My favorite film of the series is a tie between Prisoner of Azkaban and the Deathly Hallows. Interestingly, Azkaban is my least favorite book. But the way the story was handled, the increased maturity and the muted tone of the film was just incredible.

mv5bnmqzyjezytqtnznhzi00nmewlthizdmtmwyynjrmzwy0ztdkxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymtqxnzmzndi-_v1_sy1000_cr006711000_al_

Home Alone

I used to watch Home Alone every Christmas season when I was a kid. Until the disc broke. I can’t remember what happen there. Might have involved falling over while the disc was not secured in the box or accidentally stepping on it. It was just a fun and simple feel good movie and most of the attachment I have to it is memories and nostalgia. I never did replace the broken disc, and I’ve swap watching it with watching Harry Potter for the holiday season. Speaking of which, it’s probably time for a Harry Potter marathon soon.

mv5bmdmymmq5yzgtywmxoc00otu0lwiwzjetzwuwyty5mjvkzjhhxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndyymdk5mtu-_v1_sy1000_cr007231000_al_

The Matrix

I really love the Matrix movie. It was mind blowing when I first saw it. Living in a computer simulation, taking the red pill and waking up in a post-apocalyptic world. Able to learn things by downloading information to your brain. All the weapons you want at your disposal in simulations. I wonder if my love for games and computers started here… hmm… I enjoyed the sequels. Not so much the execution but the expansion of lore. I always love me some lore.

mv5bmtgwmzqzntq1ml5bml5banbnxkftztgwmdy2ntyxmte-_v1_sy1000_cr006751000_al_

Gladiator

Gladiator is just such an epic movie. From Lisa Gerard’s singing and Hans Zimmer’s score to Maximus’s speech at the end of the film. The story of a general becoming a gladiator and fighting his way up to the arena to get his revenge. Plus it’s set in the Roman Empire. That’s always a plus in my book.

My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.

Sooo good.

mv5bmtu5mdg0ntq1n15bml5banbnxkftztcwmja4mjg3mg-_v1_sy1000_cr007171000_al_

Zombieland

Zombieland was such a fun movie to watch. It was a comedic film about zombies. I was thinking about whether to choose this or Shaun of the Dead, but I chose this one instead. It kind of reminds me of the Scary Movie films, they’re not much alike but it just gives me the same vibes and I love it. The opening alone was superb. The rules and the no real names thing really made the film for me. Plus, Emma Stone kicks some zombies in this one. Oh, not to forget Bill Murray’s awesome cameo.

mv5bmje1mdq4mji1ov5bml5banbnxkftztcwnzcwodazmw-_v1_sy1000_cr007061000_al_

Mean Girls

Mean Girls was such a classic teen comedy. It was Lindsay Lohan at her finest and with Rachel McAdams, Lacey Chabert and Amanda Seyfried to help plus Tina Fey’s writing, the film was an enjoyable experience and more importantly, I could watch it again and again and again and still laugh.

mv5bntm3otc0mzm2ov5bml5banbnxkftztywnzuwmti3-_v1_

Nolan’s Batman

I’ve always loved the character of Batman. From the Animated Series to the film series kicked off by Tim Burton, Batman has always been an interesting character and the rogues gallery was just as awesome if not more so. So when Nolan chose to do a more grounded, serious approach to the character I was game. Nolan’s films reminds me of comics like Arkham Asylum: a Serious House on a Serious Earth and the Killing Joke, where it’s not fun and games but rather a brutal fight between the mad and the insane. Granted, Nolan’s Batman is not that mad. In any case, I love his take on the characters, especially Bane’s return to the Knightfall Bane, instead of the muscled goon. Bane and Harley Quinn has always been some of my favorites from Batman’s rogue’s gallery, and if I have the time, I would probably write a fan fiction of. I actually had ideas of a Batman game involving them, but of course, being extremely lazy and incapable of anything involving drawing, it’s nothing but a dream. Anyway, my favorite film in the series is the Dark Knight.

Those are my ten favorite films/film series off the top of my head. I’m pretty certain there’s something I forgot. Have you watched any of them? Did you enjoy it? Are there similar films you can recommend? Let me know in the comments down below 🙂

 

38 thoughts on “Ten Favorite Movies

  1. I have only watched Mean Girls, Lord of the Rings(which is on my list too) and Home Alone. I am yet to read or watch HP but glad to hear that you got something to watching during the holidays:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an amazing list! I really want to go watch some movies right now 🙂 YES to Star Wars, Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. Mean Girls is such a classic, I love how it is still so quotable today 🙂 The Matrix ❤ Never saw the sequels though (shame). Home Alone! Batman!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Home Alone is a classic! I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Hobbit films, they could have been done so much better, LOTR was done very well as were the Harry Potter films. Mean Girls is always good for a quote fest and laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Home Alone is definitely a classic 🙂 The Hobbit films does kind of feel like a money grab 😦 I wished they had been made with more care. Mean Girls is definitely quotable, haha 🙂

      Like

  4. Juno is such a good one. I have to watch it every time I see it on one of the movie channels. And the original Star Wars movies (episodes 4, 5 and 6, I guess?) are so epic. I remember seeing them in the theaters as they released so they are such a part of my childhood. I feel like I’m the last person ever that has not seen Mean Girls. LOL

    Here’s MY TTT POST

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this list!
    Juno and Mean Girls are some of my favorites as well. I really enjoy the high school atmosphere in both of them – it is very cliche, but that’s what makes it so funny. I particularly love Home Alone and I was watching it a few days ago. It was one of the first movies I’ve watched that was set around Christmas time and I remember asking my parents for a similar Christmas tree – it was huge and so beautiful! The one I had in my house was so much smaller. Unfortunately, I’ve never had one, hahah. But I still have great memories about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • High School story cliches are quite enjoyable for me. It’s predictable and all, but that’s part of the charm. That Christmas tree was great 🙂 The ones I have in my house is also smaller, we used to have a bigger one, but the “leaves” keep falling off and creating a huge mess so we just didn’t use that one anymore.

      Like

  6. I love Mean girls and Home Alone for what they are. Interestingly, I was watching Chamber of Secrets the other day because it was on TV, but I found it difficult to watch because it felt a bit immature. I definitely prefer the books over the movies, but I do love the soundtracks. (Also still guilty of not reading/watching LToR yet)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The early ones really had a sense of immaturity to it, and I think that’s to be expected, considering the age of the characters. I think it really started maturing from the third movie. The soundtracks are really amazing 🙂 Hedwig’s Theme still haunts me from time to time, haha. You need to at least watch the movies 🙂

      Like

  7. I love, love, love Zombieland! I could actually watch it again right now 😀 Not a big fan of the Harry Potter movies, apart from the first two, but I love the Lord of the Rings and the Original Star Wars Trilogy as well as the most recent one.

    Like

  8. Great list! I adore Lord of The Rings! Like you, I don’t rate The Hobbit films in the same league, unfortunately. 😦 They come across more as kids films to me, which is fine, but a bit disappointing if you’re expecting LOTR epic-ness! I also love Nolan’s Batman films, especially The Dark Knight Rises.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s fair for the Hobbit films to be kid films, considering their source material, but the marketing lead up to it certainly didn’t paint it in that light. Plus the content was seriously stretched way too thin and all the additional storyline just weren’t that good.
      The Dark Knight Rises get a lot of flak, but I really thought it was a good film.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. You got all the good classic series in your list! Your list encompasses a lot of the series I like, and I don’t watch many movies. I admittedly haven’t seen Gladiator or Mean Girls, but I like the rest of your choices. My wife would enjoy watching movies with you, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nice list! If you’re ever in need of some movie suggestions, I hope you’ll consider checking out my film review blog. I’ve just started out and I have plenty more insightful film suggestions to offer! You seem to have a tasteful appreciation for films so I hope you give my reviews a chance. Thanks! https://reelviewsbysara.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi I’m new to the blogging life and was wondering if you could read my work and follow me I’d appreciate it as i am interested in literature and spoken word and lack a bit of confidence Thank you for your time and have a nice day-I have to say home alone is a classic and will always be a favourite

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

