PlayStation Experience Showcase Recap

psx-showcase-recap

Oh boy, the Year of Dreams continues! So many awesome announcements at the recent PlayStation Experience (PSX) 2016 Showcase. I was expecting something good after Sony skipped both Gamescom and Paris Games Week. It felt like they were saving up for PSX.

screen_uncharted_thelostlegacy_07

Chloe Frazer in Uncharted: the Lost Legacy

They came out guns blazing with Uncharted: The Lost Legacy showing a hijab wearing woman wandering about in a war torn town. I was wondering if it was the new Tomb Raider at points in the game. The camera angles and movement was reminiscent of it, but once combat started, I was certain it was the new Uncharted DLC. I was expecting a Sam and Sully story, but I won’t say no to Chloe Frazer. I’m thinking the story is a prequel set when Nadine gets control of her mercenary group. From the way they talked about it, I’m wondering if there might be more Uncharted story chapters.

Next came Marvel vs Capcom Infinite which came out with a relatively meh trailer. But hey, Captain Marvel and MegaMan? Yes please. Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 for PS4 was also announced and released then. WipEout Omega Collection was next, which are remakes of the WipEout games. Thankfully Shawn Layden wasn’t coy with his shirt after what happened last year with Crash Bandicoot. Part of me wished he had been.

Destiny: The Dawning was shown. I’m wondering if it is a DLC or an update/event for Destiny. Crash Bandicoot: N-Sane Trilogy is officially revealed. It looks way better than I thought it would be. A new Resident Evil 7: Biohazard trailer is shown and then an updated demo is released with VR capabilities. Looking forward to watch let’s plays of this one. A full Ace Combat 7 trailer was next, showing more information about the story and gameplay, seems like something I would keep my eyes on.

Akuma and a few other characters are joining the roster of Street Fighter V. This is followed by a new the Last Guardian trailer. I’m wondering if preorder numbers are poor for them to show a new trailer on a show like PSX 3 days before the game is released. Maybe I’m just looking too deep into it. Parappa the Rapper + Locoroco + Patapon remasters were announced. Good to see older games coming back but wondering if this will mean sequels if the remasters do well.

Knack 2 the sequel nobody asked for is here. Okay, maybe I’m being a little mean, but I feel like there really wasn’t a market for it. Gravity Rush 2 Another Story DLC is announced for March 2017. The base game isn’t even out yet.

A new GT Sports is shown as well as a new Ni no Kuni 2: Revenant Kingdom trailer. Really excited for the latter. Yakuza 6 and Yakuza Kiwami will be coming to the West. I feel like I’ve seen this a ton of times already, but they were talking about it like it’s the first time they’ve mentioned it, so I might be wrong.

danganronpav3_blacklogo

Danganronpa v3: Killing Harmony is coming next year on both Vita and PS4. Also Monokuma Cubs? Sign me up. Nier Automata coming really soon. I haven’t played the first game yet, but I don’t think they are related. Will be keeping an eye on it. Ys Origin is coming to PS4 and Vita too. I think it’s been out on the PC for a while, weird how this happened. Next came Dreadnought. Wasn’t interested in the trailer but the music was pretty coolGame of Survival by Ruelle in case you’re wondering.

The more I see of Pyre, the more I’m disappointed about it. I love Supergiant Games but this isn’t the game I would play. I hope they’ll prove me wrong. Vane looks like a weird game. Going to keep an eye on it. What Remains of Edith Finch is of a similar vain (heh). It’s from the makers of Unfinished Swan so I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on it too.

Absolver was next. I feel like I might be interested in the gameplay but it being multiplayer is turning me off. Nex Machina looks like an arcady top down shooter, the kind that HouseMarque does best. This was followed by a sizzle reel of upcoming indie games, including what looks like Nidhogg 2 and Hellblade. They should really make a logo or a title card to tell us what the games were. A new Let it Die trailer is shown and is released on the same day. This is followed by a few other same day releases like Surgeon Simulator VR and Mother Russia BleedsLara Croft Go is finally coming out to a console (and Vita). I enjoyed Hitman Go so will probably get this if it’s on sale.

Windjammers is… weird. I’ve never heard of this before and I think it’s something of an inside joke from the way Gio Corsi talked about it. Starblood Arena is a new PSVR game and then there’s a montage of upcoming PSVR games with no indication of what the games are. I feel that Sony seriously drop the ball on montages this year. Plus, the lack of any impactful PSVR titles has me worried about the future of the hardware.

Nioh feels like it’s been in this kind of stages for an eternity. Hopefully it will finally be out soon. It’s giving me an Onimusha meets Dark Souls vibe and I’m a huge fan of those games. MLB the Show 17 was shown next. Followed by a new Horizon Zero Dawn story trailer. Can we get the game now? Like please. February 28 can’t come soon enough.

txp9byibpzh3ycusxa6ivc-480-80

Ellie all grown up in the Last of Us Part II

And of course the coup de grâce, The Last of Us Part II. Holy shit. I was thinking that this wasn’t possible. Naughty Dog must be keeping themselves really busy. Granted, they mentioned that it’s still early in development. If I’m a betting man, I would bet on a 2019 release at the earliest. And OMG, an older Ellie playing a guitar! Our baby girl has grown up! Why is her hand shaking though? Is the cordyceps catching up to her? God, I hope not. Joel doesn’t seem to have aged though. Is he just a figment of her imagination? Why is she so angry and bloodthirsty? My theory is that Jackson County people are killed by the Fireflies and Ellie is looking to avenge them. She seems to be in the room on the Last of Us title screen. where the knife would be after you finished the game. Or maybe it has something to do with her mother? Ah, can’t wait for more information. (The panel says that she’ll be 19 and the where the first game’s theme is love, this game’s theme is hate. Oh God, I want this game so much right now. I just know the Naughty Dog crew, Ashley Johnson and Troy Baker are going to the game justice.)

And that’s the whole show. Sony has been killing it lately with all these awesome press conferences. There’s just the little issue with delivering the games and delivering them on time. Hopefully from here on out there will be fewer delays and all the games will turned out to be great. Personally, I’m excited by most of the games shown at this showcase! Let me know in the comments what you thought about the showcase and what games you are looking forward to the most.

4 thoughts on “PlayStation Experience Showcase Recap

  1. I forgot all about this event until i flipped onto youtube and saw it streaming, lol. Bought Lara Croft GO right away – $7.99, downloaded Let It Die this evening, as it’s free, the Resident Evil 7 demo auto-updated and I suck at Parappa after like 10 years not playing it, lol. It was a good day for Sony for sure. Today might br better if they have a few more surprises…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still need to download Let It Die, I was interested in Suda51’s previous work but didn’t have a Wii to play it. It’s definitely a good day! Not sure what other surprises they could have included.

      Like

  2. I know the trailer wasn’t SPECTACULAR but I’m pretty pumped for the new MvC news and Crash Bandicoot had no business looking that good. I’m also loving the prospect of more Wipeout, Last of Us and Uncharted, obviously.
    Milo.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

