New to Me Authors

ttt-new-to-me-authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016. It’s been a while since I’ve read as many books as I have this year. But I’ve also stuck mostly with series, so there aren’t that many new authors I read. Here are some that I really enjoyed reading.

1330292

Maggie Stiefvater

I finally finished reading the Raven Cycle recently and it’s one of my favorite series of all time. (Side note: You’ll see this a few time in this post) I just love the way she wrote the characters. Hoping to explore more of her work in the future. The Scorpio Races in particular looks like it would be a good read.

4684322

Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles is also one of my all-time favorite series. I really love the world she’s built and the camaraderie between the characters in that world. Plus, her spin on each of the fairy tales that inspired the series was interesting to read about. Hoping to read Heartless soon, and wishing for that Gatlon Trilogy to come sooner.

33467

Jonathan Stroud

I’ve heard great things about the Bartimaeus Sequence, but I wanted to read the whole series in one go, so I waited. And then I saw the Screaming Staircase on a bookshelf, and needed to get one more book to use up my book vouchers. I looked at the blurb, I looked at the cover and I looked at the author and I was sold. Lockwood & Co is one of my favorite series of all-time. I feel that it needs way more attention that it’s getting.

15872

Rick Riordan

I don’t know why I took so long to read the Percy Jackson series. I think it might have something to do with the movies. (I actually kinda liked them though.) In any case, I finally read them and I seriously love them. I devoured all five in about a month. That’s an awesome feat, considering I usually read four books per month. It has also become one of my favorite series, I’m hoping to read the Heroes of Olympus soon. Just need that final book.

31232

Steven Erikson

Steven Erikson is the author of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series. I’ve not completed it yet, so I can’t say it’s my favorite series, but I like what I’ve read so far. It’s certainly a far larger world than what I’ve read in a long time and it’s drench with history and struggles from all over the Empire.

7168230

VE Schwab

I read Vicious a few months ago and I was absolutely in love with it. The way the plot moves, the twist and turns, the characters, everything about it was great. Plus, I just can’t say no to a superhero novel. Can’t wait to get to A Darker Shade of Magic and the rest of her bibliography.

4208569

Rainbow Rowell

I read Kindred Spirit and Eleanor & Park this year. I really love her stories about youth, love and fandom. Hoping to tackle Fangirl soon, especially since it’s about a writer. And I want to read more stories about writers.

5148268

Michael McClung

Michael McClung is the author of the Thief Who Pulled on Trouble’s Braid, which is the first book in the Amra Thetys series. It won the Self-Published Fantasy Blog Off in 2015, which is where I heard about it. It’s a good story with a unique protagonist. I’m hoping to get back to the series sometime soon.

220px-scott_meyer_author

Scott Meyer

Off to be the Wizard is the first book of the Magic 2.0 series, where a hacker hacks the source code of the world and travels to medieval England and becomes a wizard, only to find other people has done the same thing. It’s a goofy and fun adventure. Hopefully I’ll find time to sneak in books 2 and 3 to the series sometime soon. There’s just sooooo many books to read!!

That’s all from me. What are some new authors you’ve read this year that you enjoyed? Which author in the list above is your favorite? Let me know in the comments down below 🙂

 

18 thoughts on “New to Me Authors

  1. Amazing list! I have Marissa Meyer and V.E. Schwab also on my list for author discoveries this year. The Lunar Chronicles was amazing and I also fell in love with A Darker Shade of Magic! Hoping to get to A Gathering of Shadows soon and then on to Vicious 🙂 Maggie Stiefvater, Rick Riordan and Rainbow Rowell are all pretty great too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The Lunar Chronicles is definitely amazing! Vicious is awesome, I hope you’ll love it. I’ll hopefully tackle A Darker Shade of Magic soon. They are awesome authors 🙂

      Like

  2. The Percy Jackson books are so great! everyone should read them.
    I have been begin my daughter to read them, but she refused every time. This morning she asked if she could read my Percy Jackson books! Imaging the joy I felt! I was like Yes! Yes! yes! Thank God! hahaha

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are great! Can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read it, and I’m glad I finally did.
      That’s great news! Hopefully she’ll like it and get sucked into the series like I did 🙂

      Like

    • Thanks! She’s a great speaker from what I’ve seen of her. She has done a TedTalk before. Hopefully you’ll have a great time 🙂 I’m just jealous you’ll get to see her in person!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

