Ten Things I Won’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Christmas Tree

year-2-ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is Ten Things I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving under My Tree. I’ll be listing five non-book items and five books for the list. And so as not to tread over a previous topic about what books I would get if money wasn’t a problem, I thought it would be fun to imagine a Santa Claus that has the power to give me books that do not exist yet but have been announced or talked about at some point.

Non-Book Items

psvr-listing-thumb-01-ps4-eu-14mar16_psd

PlayStation VR

No seriously, I would cry if Santa left this under my Christmas tree. It’s so outside my budget right now that it’s not even funny. It’s more than two month’s income back when I actually had an income. There’s no way I’m going to be able to afford it anytime soon, but I seriously want to get one just to try it out. Maybe sometime late next year or in 2018. On the bright side, it will probably be cheaper and better. Plus the game library will have increased too.

20-nintendo-switch

Nintendo Switch

Nintendo Switch is supposedly coming in March 2017, it looks great but I have some reservations about it. Rumors and leaks seems to be promising though, but we’ll find out come January 13’s presentation. Still won’t say no to Saint Nick leaving one under my Christmas tree.

b008geh9ho_img3_lg

Nintendo 3DS

I was planning to get this during this holiday season but ultimate decided against it. One of the main reasons was because Switch was coming and there’s rumors of a Pokemon Stars coming to that. That and honestly dwindling amounts of luxury money.

geforce_gtx_titanx_3qtr-100573547-orig

Nvidia GeForce GTX Titan X

I’ve been thinking about getting a new graphics card for a long time. My GTX 760 was a little outdated when I got it two years ago. It can still run games like Witcher 3 and Rise of the Tomb Raider on low to mid settings, but it’s unable to handle higher settings at all. I think the next batch of games like Mass Effect Andromeda and the even later ones like Cyberpunk 2077 and Death Stranding will put the card to the ultimate test. Titan X is the top of the line at the moment, and an SLI setup would be amazing but let’s just say getting you could buy rebuild my current setup with just the cost of one Titan X and still have money to spare. I wonder if I would be put in the naughty list for getting too greedy in my letter to Santa.

sony-4k-jt

A 4k TV

And to round up my list of incredible pricey technology is a 4k TV. I currently use 24 inch TV as both a monitor and a TV to play my console games on. It’s passable, though at distances it’s harder to make out details at 1080p resolution. Plus I would really love to experience games and movies at 4k resolution. It seems like it would be amazing.

Books

Oathbringer (Stormlight #3)

The latest word on the streets is that the release date for Oathbringer will be November next year, as mentioned in 2016’s State of the Sanderson post. It’s close, but not close enough. The flashbacks in the novel will be Dalinar’s, which means we get to see the man change from the Blackthorn to the person he is in present day Stormlight. I hope that Santa can give it to me early as a Christmas present.

Dragonsteel

Dragonsteel is a novel by Sanderson too and it’s technically out. Technically because it’s his master’s thesis and the only copy I know of is at the BYU library. And apparently that thing has a waiting list the length of the circumference of Earth. So even if I do manage to go to BYU one day, I won’t even be able to see it in the library. And I think you might need to be a student or faculty member to actually borrow the book. Things aren’t looking good. So Santa? If you’re reading, you know what to do.

Winds of Winter (A Song of Ice and Fire #6)

It’s been YEARS guys. Seriously. I know the TV series has done their take on it based on input by George RR Martin, but I really want to see it in prose form and written by the author himself. I have no idea when it will be out.

Doors of Stone (Kingkiller Chronicles #3)

Another one that has taken YEARS. Please Santa, if you have some sort of time machine capabilities, I really want this one. Thanks!

The Book of Dust (His Dark Materials?)

Rumor has it that Philip Pullman has been working on a sequel to the His Dark Material trilogy for some time. That was a while ago. And news has been changing a lot since. There’s talk that it’s suppose to be a collection of short stories, or that it is a prequel. Or that it will be split into two volumes and be both a sequel and a prequel. And every year Pullman has been saying that the book will be coming out in the following year. He’s even made a pledge to not cut his hair until it’s done! Not a slightest clue when this book will be coming out. If it’s even coming out.

That’s ten things I won’t mind Santa putting under my Christmas tree for this holiday season. I won’t be too greedy, so just one of the ten would suffice 🙂 Not sure they would fit under the tiny Christmas tree I have anyway. I feel like I should get a bigger one to match my greed. Haha.

What do you want for Christmas this year? Is there anything on my list that made it to your wishlist for Santa? Let me know in the comments down below!

14 thoughts on “Ten Things I Won’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Christmas Tree

  1. I think the biggest thing I could ask for this year would be some kind of VR device. I’m not desperate for one, but it would be awesome and futuristic to have one of those at home. I also would love the Nintendo Switch, but it would truly be a Christmas miracle for Santa’s elves to build the console that we still don’t know a lot about yet!

    Liked by 1 person

    • VR is definitely a luxury item. There isn’t that many functionality to it too. But man, it would be sweet to own one of those things. I’m sure Santa could use some Christmas magic to make miracles happen 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha. Hopefully you’re slightly more up to date after reading this post. Oh, that’s cool. Hope you’ll have a fun experience. The Switch does look awesome! Hope it delivers on its promises.

      Like

  2. Oh man, I didn’t know about Dragonsteel, that’s crazy!! I can’t wait for Oathbringer! Maybe I will even re-read the first 2 books before November 2017.

    .. I have a 3DS and will buy every Nintendo product 😀

    Like

What are your thoughts?

