2017! It’s a New Year!

new-year-2017

Hello, everyone. I’m back with the first post on Watch Game Read for the New Year! How has everyone’s New Year been like? I hope it’s been great so far. There just something about the dawn of a new year that makes me feel excited. We have a whole year in front of us, and I’m eager to see what I’ve accomplished by the end of it.

That said, we’re 17 days in now. It’s all been like a blur to me. I’ve been struck with two mishaps so far. My PC’s motherboard burned out on me on January the 4th. Four being an inauspicious number in Chinese superstition because four and death are homonyms in Mandarin and a few other dialects. Kinda appropriate. Cost me a pretty penny to replace. About a week later, my car’s exhaust was screaming at me so I had to have it replaced. Cost me another pretty penny to replace. Dipped deep into my emergency savings for those parts :/ It’s like the world is telling me that I need to get an income ASAP!

Speaking of income. I’ve started job hunting. I polished up my CV over the break and looked up a few job openings. The amount of vacancies is a fair bit underwhelming, but considering the current economic situation here, it’s to be expected. Three years ago, jobs were given out to my fellow graduates like candy. Now, it’s like finding candy fallen off behind the counter. Not what you would prefer, but when you’re starving, it’s at least something to eat. Fingers-crossed, I hope I get a nice paying job with limited responsibilities outside working hours. But, hey, I’ll take what I can get. Beggars can’t be choosers.

I’ve started reading again, though I’ve still haven’t finish a book this year. But on the bright side, hey, I’ve started reading again! Yay! I’ve also set my Goodreads reading challenge goal slightly lower than last’s years target but slightly higher than what I actually read. Adjusting expectations and all that. Haha. I’m actually expecting to read less than last year, considering the amount of free time I’ll have this year but I’ll try my best to hit the goal. If it’s easily achievable, it’s not much of a challenge, is it? In any case, I also plan to read a few graphic novels this year, which does feel like cheating a little, but I can actually afford them now, probably, when I get a job. So yay?

As for the blog, I’ve actually written quite a few posts during the break, so I think I’m slowly getting back in the grove again. I’m not quite there yet, but it’s a positive sign. My goal for the year is to publish a post three times a week. Not sure how feasible it is, honestly. I’ve only worked full time for three months in my life, and it was a grueling experience for me. I eventually got used to it but it wasn’t anywhere near pleasant. Granted, it was working at a fast food restaurant, which is a far cry from the job I currently am looking for in terms of physical demand. Still, I think I’ll need some time to get used to it.

The Malazan Readalong posts are going to be infrequent from now on. I’ll probably finish Gardens of the Moon, I feel like I need to finish what I started, but I doubt I’ll do the rest of the series. The thing is while I enjoy the book, it’s a little bit of a pain in the ass to do the posts. It disrupts my reading tempo a lot, since I have to jot down a quick synopsis and my thoughts on it immediately. I guess reading the whole book first and then rereading it to do the post is a better way to do it, but I don’t feel like rereading something that soon after I’ve done with it.

And then there’s my writing. I’ve set aside this year for revisions. I’ve already felt the urge to work on something new, so it’ll be interesting to see how I cope with it. I have this idea for a screenplay that I’m just itching to get to. Maybe I’ll do for Camp NaNoWriMo. God, it’ll be a challenge. Anyway, the plan is to spend the first few months rereading all the stuff I’ve wrote and pick a book or two to polish up. Hopefully, by the end of the year, I’ll have something I consider publishable and actually start querying agents and publishers! It gets me excited just thinking about it, but I think I have a LONG way to go in terms of the quality of my writing.

There is one other personal project that I’m planning to do this year. I’ve been floating the idea of it for a time, and I think I’ve finally put a pin on what I want to do with it. Still, it’s at an early phase and the level of commitment I would need to put into it feels enormous. It will be interesting to see if I get anything done with it. So until I have something substantial to show for it, I probably won’t talk about it. And I shouldn’t talk about it right now. God knows how many times I’ve been excited about doing something until a proverbial brick wall named reality hits in me right in the face (i.e. Malazan Readalong), or the excitement putters out and I realize how stupid said project was. We’ll see in July or so, which is the deadline I’ve set for myself to produce something of it.

Oh, one last thing, I’m turning 25 in about a week. Hot damn, does that make me feel old. And a little behind. The vast majority of friends my age have already been working for at least a year. But on the bright side, I’ve been alive for a quarter of a century. That feels like it deserves some sort of medal or something that says “Yay, I’ve been on this rock for a quarter of a century!” Well, I’ve almost been alive for that long. Still about a week to go. Let’s no jinx it, shall we?

Well, that’s all from me. What’s your year been like so far? What are you planning to accomplish this year? What’s your Goodreads reading challenge goal? As per usual, let me know in the comments down below 🙂

2 thoughts on “2017! It’s a New Year!

What are your thoughts?

