Ten Graphic Novels in my TBR

ttt-graphic-novels

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by the folks at the Broke and the Bookish. Each week has a different theme where participants try to come up with ten things to fit the theme.

This week is All About the Visuals. I decided to list out ten graphic novels in my TBR pile that I hope to tackle this year. And this is just the right topic for me too, since I’m planning to read more graphic novels this year. However, it is also the week (I think) that NYT removes graphic novels from their bestsellers’ list. So pretty fitting week to talk about graphic novels. 

29800

Scott Pilgrim

I’ve watched the film and read a few of the books, but I still haven’t completed the series yet. But I absolutely love Scott Pilgrim. It’s the kind of humor that resonates with me, plus the various antics of the crew just makes it all the more fun. It will be one of my priorities do reread and finish the series this year.

15704307

Saga

Saga is one of those graphic novels that I’ve seen recommended a ton from various different groups of people, and decided to place on my TBR, but never actually bothered to look up what it’s about. So I finally looked it up and it’s about a young family and their fight to find their place in a Sci Fi world with tons of aliens and planets. Sounds interesting.

29772863

Wires and Nerves

Marissa Meyer’s first graphic novel is set in the world of the Lunar Chronicles. It will follow the adventures of android Iko, set after the end of the main series. The Rampion crew will be featured in the graphic novel, so we’ll actually be seeing official depictions of the characters for the first time. HYPE!

23754

The Sandman

The Sandman is a graphic novel written by Neil Gaiman. This is just one of many of his books on my TBR. I really want to read him and have tried with American Gods, but I gave up on that book after a reading slump, although I do plan to revisit it someday. In the meantime, Sandman might be an option to look at. It tells the story of Dream, who is captured by a magician in order to gain immortality. It’s also part of the DC Universe, featuring villains from the other series like Lucifer from Constantine.

21326

Fables

Fables is set in Fabletown, New York, where characters from fairy tales and folklore live. The main character is Bigby Wolf, formerly the Big Bad Wolf, who has reformed and become the sheriff of Fabletown. Throughout the series, he solves various crimes and murders. My first exposure to Fables comes from Telltale Games’s the Wolf Among Us, which portrays the various characters from fairy tales and folklore in an interesting light, which I’m keen to see more of.

156534

Y: the Last Man

This one has been on my TBR for a LONG time. I’m not quite certain how it got there, but I suspect it has something to do with the Last of Us. I really loved the Last of Us and was looking for similar stories at the time and while watching a talk given by the director, who talked about how the Last of Us was going to be a world where only women were infected (or something like that) before they changed it because of some sexist undertones (or something like that not 100% sure on this. I’m relying on a very poor memory here and I can’t find the video of the talk) and someone in the comments mentioned Y: the Last Man as a similar story but the opposite. And like Saga, I’ve seen it mentioned on a lot of graphic novels lists. Might finally pick it up this year.

517za0xxmyl

Schlock Mercenary

Well, this one’s more of a web comic than a graphic novel, but it’s visual, so it’s game, right? It’s by Howard Tayler, one of the hosts of the Writing Excuses podcast. I’ve been wanting to read this for a while and have actually tried reading it online but it’s just too huge and there’s too many screen clicking and loading for me :/ Good news is that they are compiled into volumes and available for sale. It just feels like it’ll the better way to read it.

24812

Calvin and Hobbes

Speaking of comics, another panel comic series I want to tackle this year is Calvin and Hobbes. I’ve actually read through them before and it’s one of my favorite works of all time. Plus, I’ve recently watched Kaptain Kristian’s take on them and it’s ignited a desire in me to reread them.

19351043

Nimona

Continuing with more comics/web comics is Nimona. Well, I think technically the graphic novel is an adaptation of the web comic rather than the web comic itself. The art style is very unique and the story sounds like it could be something fun, with the titular Nimona being the sidekick to supervillain Lord Blackheart who wants to prove that the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics isn’t that heroic.

23093359

The Wicked + The Divine

This is another one that comes up often in graphic novel suggestions. Image Comics really knows how to pick their comics. I guess. Not sure how publishing in the world of graphic novels work. Anyway, the Wicked + the Divine tells the story of 12 gods who every 90 years are incarnated as essentially celebrities. The catch is that they will die within two years after their powers have been awakened.

Those are ten graphic novels in my TBR that I hope to tackle sooner rather than later. Have you read any of them? What do you think about them? Let me know in the comments down below.

23 thoughts on “Ten Graphic Novels in my TBR

    • Let’s hope we both get to it sooner rather than later! I’ve heard tons of good things about the Wicked and the Divine, no surprise to see it popping up in a few list 🙂

      Like

  1. I hadn’t even thought about the NTY bestseller list cut, but you’re right…that’s weirdly appropriate for this week.

    I’ve been wanting to read The Sandman for years and haven’t gotten around to it. Hope you do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not do a list today for myself, I asked my daughter if she wanted to help and list her favorite books!
    I never read a comic book.So The only ones I read were the VA and Percy Jackson graphic novels. But we did something a little different. Allyson added some comics she read on her list.
    Also check out our easy to enter Valentine’s giveaway!

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WIRES AND NERVES! I am so pumped for that book, I need to order it right away, actually, haha. And I have heard wonderful things about Nimona for so long now, I think it’s about time I try and read it. I think it’s because I am not much of a graphic novel reader, that I am a bit nervous about it…
    Great list 🙂

    Like

  4. Would you consider adding Chew by John Layman to it. If you;re interesting in things like indie comics such as saga then you may enjoy it. It my favourite comic of all time.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

