Monthly Wrap Up February

 

monthly-wrap-up

Hey guys, how’s 2017 been so far for you? We’re 2 months in! Time really flies by! I hope 2017 has been treating you well! It’s been a while since I last did a wrap-up, so I’ve a lot to talk about.

2017, for me, has been a year of change. And I’m super uncomfortable with change, so this last two months has not been the most enjoyable experience for me. For most of it, I was job hunting, putting the finishing touches on my thesis and trying to work out which novel I want to revise. And then in almost a span of a week, I finally passed my candidature and landed two jobs. A full time job and a part time one.

I had a LOT of worries about what I’ll be getting myself into. I still am worried. It cuts a whole lot into my free time, which I VALUE a lot. I even wrote a post about it which I planned to publish last month, but it felt very hypocritical considering the decision I made, so I didn’t publish it. Still, the part time job (which is a teaching job) would give me some experience and self-improvement in areas I sorely need (*cough* communication *cough*). Plus it pays well. Even better than my full time job actually >_< But it’s only a temporary job, so I can still see the light at the end of the tunnel if things get a little too hard to handle.

My full time job, on the other hand, caught me off by surprise. I had applied for a few companies and those that did reply told me that they would only process job applications once their ads have run their course. A few had application closing dates in early March. So I was expecting like an April start day or later. This one offered me the job right away, but it pays a lot less than what I’m expecting to get. It was a stressful three days for me when I struggled with what to do with the job offer. Ultimately I decided that a bird in hand is worth two in the bush, right? And the pay is still fairly decent. Besides, I think it would be great to start at a smaller company and learn the ropes first before getting into something that pays better but is more stressful. At least, that’s what I hope it would be.

This unexpected job offer also meant that I’ll be starting both jobs on the same week. I DON’T KNOW ARGH ARGH ARGHHHHHHH!!!!!!! *ahem* Anyway, if you’re not hearing me from me in the next few weeks, you’ll know why. I’ll probably be dead asleep on my bed during any free time I have.

At first, I though I’d try my best to keep blogging at least once a week, but I don’t feel like I’ll actually be able to do it, seeing as I’m already having some issues (especially the comments. I’m so behind as it is.) So I decided that I’ll write some post, but at the same time, I don’t want to stress myself out thinking that I have to get one out each week. I also made that decision knowing that without a deadline for myself, I probably will lapse A LOT in blogging. Gah, adulthood sucks.

That leaves me with revisions. I’ve set aside this year to revising my previous works, but I still haven’t decide which one. I’ve been reading through my first works and… well… it’s incredibly cringe-worthy and difficult to get through. I’ve only managed to read two and decided they weren’t salvageable. I mean there were entire chapters talking about cake eating and movie-going. Yeah, not my finest work.

The third novel I’ve put aside for a while. It has some good ideas, but I’ll have to gut the story a lot. There are side plots that went nowhere and a few topics I think I’m not quite equipped to handle. I’m currently looking at the fourth one. This one is super clichéd, but I do like the story beats. Characters need some work but overall, I have a good feeling about it. If the others don’t turn out any good, this might the one I’ll revise.

And now, the things I’ve done for the last month (and then some. I forgot to keep track of them for a while.)monthly-review-watch

feb watch.png

Your Name is an excellent anime film about love, desire for greener pastures and body switching. It’s really awesome and I would HIGHLY suggest it, even if you don’t like anime in particular. XXX: Return of Xander Cage was a fun movie, though not something I’d recommend. Check out my review about it. I’ve been rewatching Community during that few days I was stressed about the job offer. I just wanted to laugh and forget about my worries for a time. It was still as good as I remember it.

monthly-review-game

 

february-game

Shadow Tactics: Blades of the Shogun is a very fun game that hearkens back to real time tactic games of old, like Desperados and Robin Hood: Legend of Sherwood. I’ve just finished the game recently and it’s been an enjoyable romp. Planning to do a review on it, so do keep an eye out for it. Alienation is a twin stick shooter by House Marque. I’m playing it with my friend. While it’s been fun, there are times when I’m wondering if I’m just stuck in an endless grinding loop. Rimworld was another game I played a lot of this month. I have it open by the side most of the time, while I listen to podcasts or watch YouTube videos. I’ve also played a little This War of Mine: The Little Ones on the PS4. On Day 20 on my current save. Still haven’t tried it out with children. I’m waiting until I complete this play through. If I do finish it, that is.
monthly-review-read

February Read.png

So… I’ve been on somewhat of a graphic novel/comic strip mood lately. I reread Calvin and Hobbes: the Complete Collection in its entirety. There are a lot of things I’ve forgotten about the comics and I’m glad I did it. I finally finished Scott Pilgrim. I reread the first few and finished the rest of them. It’s hard to compare it with the films. Some of the changes I liked (the Katayanagi twins fight), others I wished the film had kept (Lisa Miller and more of Envy Adams). Nimona was another fun graphic novel. It’s not something I would necessarily recommend, but it’s a short, enjoyable read. Next, I read Seconds another graphic novel by Bryan Lee O’Malley. It’s another short, enjoyable read. I also finally started Saga. I’m currently on the 5th chapter. It has been a blast thus far. Can’t believe I waited this long to read it.

And that was my February. Wish I had spent my time a little better, considering I’ll be working from March onward and free time will become a premium, but all things considered, it’s been one of the better months recently.

8 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up February

  1. Congratulations on your new jobs! I’m excited for your new transitions! I hope you can also enjoy your part-time teaching job on top of your full-time job. It’s definitely tough, so I wish you the best of luck!

    Also, I want to see your name. so badly. It still hasn’t begun screening in theaters here, so I still have to wait to see it, but it sounds so good. Additionally, I’ve never read the Scott Pilgrim comic, but the movie is one of my favorites. I know it’s different, so I’d like to check it out sometime too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It’s an exciting and challenging time for sure. I hope I come out the other side a better person 🙂
      Your Name is excellent! You should definitely watch it in the theaters when it’s out! Scott Pilgrim’s comics and film isn’t too different, but it’s still interesting to see what they changed. Hope you get to check it out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your jobs 🙂 I hope it’ll all work out for you! I really hate starting new jobs & being trained – I can’t stand not knowing what to do, although there’s no way around it. I jumped from job to job quite often years ago but am happy, that I am working my 2 current jobs for a long time now. And I am planning to keep them 😉

    Yay, Community! Always worth re-watching, especially the first 3 seasons!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The first few days is boring for sure. I kinda want to do more, but at the same time I feel like I should appreciate the calm before the storm. Haha.
      Glad you’re happy with your 2 jobs! If I need some tips to juggle 2 jobs, I know who to look for 🙂
      The first 3 seasons are definitely better, but the rest aren’t that far behind either. I hope I can find time to rewatch them all!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with the jobs!!! Sending good vibes your way ♥ I was OBSESSED with Community, but then I stopped watching towards the end because it sorta lost what I loved about it? The first few seasons are some of my all time favourites though. I loved the characters so much. Ahhh, Saga is amazing 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on your jobs, Jamie! I understand it is stressful to give up on your free time, but I’m sure everything will work out and pay off at the end. You’re getting a lot of experience and they’ll definitely be useful in the future. I’m sending positive vibes your way! Also, don’t get too stressed about blogging and being active on social media; everything will still be here after things slow down for you!
    I’m also planning on reading more graphic novels and mangas this year. They’re such short and enjoyable reads! I already read Scott Pilgrim by Brian O’Malley, but it’s been so long, I don’t remember anything about it. I think I’ll probably pick up something fluffier, though, hahah.
    I hope you have a great month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I really hope so, but I feel like at the very least, I’ll have experienced something new 🙂
      Reading graphic novels and mangas make me feel like I’m a speed reading demon. Haha. I hope you find something you like 🙂
      I hope you have a great one too!!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

