Monthly Wrap-Up March and a Look At 2017 So Far

monthly-wrap-upHoly frost from the seven hells, I feel like time has just rushed past me, leaving me behind in its dusty, sandy wake. I’ve been away from this blog for a month! And boy, has that month been a terrible one for me. I didn’t get any writing done. I only watched some YouTube video. And some of my favorite channels either closed down or split up this month. I barely did any reading and I only played one game, Horizon: Zero Dawn, which I still haven’t beaten. WordPress has changed its layout too, just to show me that I haven’t been around for a while. Haha.

I guess I could grumble and moan about how terrible March has been for me, and trust me it was. Short summary – two jobs, no creative output and a possible health issue that is still getting looked at. I feel like I’m in a pressure cooker at times.

Anyway, I thought that since I had such a bad month, and honestly, a below average year so far, I’d switch things up a little and look on the bright side of things, shine some positive light into my bleak year so far. So here are somethings I’m happy about and excited for.

1.) Work

I think it goes without saying that I’m super thankful that I actually have two jobs. It does create a lot of stress and striking a balance between them has been tougher than I thought, but I’m starting to find the rhythm and time to manage it. It’s been a great relief that both working environments have been friendly and I’ve never actually felt pressure from the people in my workplace. It’s just the expectations, responsibilities and adapting to work life that has stressed me out for the most part. Most of it is self inflicted, of course. I think it helps that I’m in a smaller working environment with less people and less drama. And for my day job, besides the pay and benefits, it’s almost everything I wanted from a job. Especially a first one. Good working environment, good colleagues, and minimal responsibilities off hours. Plus the bosses are great too. Approachable, as much as any boss can be, and pretty hands off too. As long as you can your things done, they’re not to fuss about what you’re doing the rest of the time. And once my probation period is over, I’m thinking of doing some writing during my free time.

2.) Writing 

I’ve FINALLY selected the novel I’m going to polish for 2017! (Only took me four months…) Now I just have to find the time to do it… To be honest, I’m not 100% on board with it yet, but its the one that gets me the most excited. The characters are fun to write about and the story, though cliched, has enough twists and turns that I think it can be a fun read too. There’s just two main issues I think will be major obstacles to overcome. The first being that it has three PoV characters who spend a sizable chunk of the narrative together. Which means there are a lot of jumping between heads despite the story moving along on the same path causing it to be jarring at times. And the second, and bigger issue, is that its one of the novels I’ve not finished yet. I stopped halfway after I realized there were some issues with my writing and the plot. I think I have it figured out, but I can only know for sure when I’ve actually written it. Either way, I’m excited to give a try. I’m planning to get it started once my part time job ends.

And then there’s the screenplay I’ve been spending some time on. It is mostly still vague ideas, a few scenes all over the place, and some music stuck in my head. Music being one of the focal points of the story. So at this point it’s still a bunch of stars I can’t fathom into constellations (heh), but I still think it’s going to be a fun idea. Though I’ll need to get use to the way a screenplay is written, which has thus far been a hassle. Who knows? Maybe I’ll just turn it into a novel instead. Haha.

3.) Blogging

I gotten a few posts ready for April, just some final editing needed to make it more presentable. Some of them were actually for March, but I just didn’t get around to dust it up. With any luck, April will be a less barren month. I mean, how hard can it be to post more than I did in March? With March having a grand total of ONE post. Right? RIGHT?

Most of them are review posts though, and I’m hoping to add some variety into the mix. I have a few ideas that can probably be turned into a Random Ramblings type post but I don’t think I can sustain a run of Random Ramblings post. I know it doesn’t have to be multiple posts, but it just feels wrong… somehow. There’s a few other ideas swirling around my head, as usual, it’s just a matter of if I can write a post out of them. Hopefully, I’ll be able to write one of them for April.

4.) Widening Horizons

I don’t know whether it’s the thought of being tied to a desk eight hours a day, five days a week that has triggered this feeling, but I’ve never been as excited about trying new things as I have in the last week or so. I’ve officially started saving up for travel! So with luck, I’ll be able to start planning some trips next year! Maybe even the end of this year if I choose to go somewhere local.

I’ve also thought exploring the freelancing. I’ve tried it before and being inexperienced at the time, I just agreed to everything my clients wanted and it was a huge burden on me. There was also a lack of contract and details weren’t nailed down at the beginning, so as things progressed, the project bloated a LOT more than what I was paid to do. I think if I’m able to… um… basically get a backbone, or borrow one from a potential partner, then it might be a good think to look at it again. I had fun doing the projects themselves, it’s the dealing-with-clients part that I dread every time.

Another personal project I’m working on has basically grinded to a halt. It uses a resource hungry software and with the computer at my work being so abysmal, the last thing I wanted to do when I get back home is to be frustrated by lags and freezes. Maybe I’ll pick it up again when my part time job ends, or maybe I won’t. I still haven’t quite decided what I want to do with it.

That’s all from me today. Hopefully, you won’t have to wait another month until you hear from me again. In the meantime, let me know what you’ve been up to this month! What are some great things that has happened to you in 2017 so far?

10 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up March and a Look At 2017 So Far

  1. Sorry your March and your 2017 so far hasn’t been all that great! But I like how you’re still focusing on the bright side 🙂 Congrats on the two nice jobs and good luck with your writing project! We totally understand if you have a bit less blog posts up as usual – sometimes life throws some other priorities your way. Also, it’s so great that you are planning some trips! That usually helps get me excited and cheers me right up 🙂
    My 2017 so far hasn’t been all that great either as I lost my job last December and have been struggling finding a new job so far. But on the bright side, I’ve been enjoying some extra time for doing things I enjoy like reading, music and tv shows. And I’m taking some classes to update my resume so I’m definitely keeping busy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for all the kind words 🙂 It really is nice to plan some trips! Even though I’ve not decided where I want to go, the idea of the trip itself really gets me excited 😀
      Sorry to hear that. Hope you’ll find a job soon! In the meantime, enjoy those extra time to the fullest!! I know I miss them 😂😂 It’s great that you’re taking classes! I think every little helps in the hunt for jobs.

      Like

  2. Good to hear from you again! Sucks that your March wasn’t the greatest month.. but at least you’re ending it thinking positive, that’s amazing 🙂 I really hope, April is getting better and it sure looks like it! Travelling always makes me happy & excited as well! We went to Western Australia for a week last month and it was just what we needed, it’s a beautiful part of the world, and it definitely wasn’t the last time we went.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! April is looking better for sure 🙂 Hope the rest of the year continues in an upward trend! Great to hear that your trip was great 🙂 I really hope I get the opportunity to travel to Western Australia one day! It sounds like an amazing place.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Looking on the positive side of things sort of helps me look back and see that it wasn’t all bad, despite what it felt like. Definitely gives me a fresh perspective about the last few weeks.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry March wasn’t that great, but seeing you talk about the positives is really inspiring ♥ It sounds like you managed to get some good jobs. I wouldn’t feel too bad about blogging either. Real life happens and there are more important things. I hope April is amazing for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I did manage to get good jobs for sure! Otherwise, last month would have been worse. I can’t even begin to imagine that! I hope April is amazing for you too 🙂

      Like

  4. Sorry to hear March has been so terrible for you. It sounds like things are getting better though, so I hope April is a huge improvement! Good luck on your work, your projects, and your writing! Seems like exciting things are headed your way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

