Monthly Wrap-Up: May

 

monthly wrap upHello everyone! How’s your month been like? I hope it has been well. It’s been a while since I had a chance to blog and with any luck, I’ll soon be able to be more active again, since one of my jobs has officially ended 🙂 There’s so much catching up to do too. It’s both exciting and daunting at the same time.

As for me, if my month can be summed up in one word, it’s illness. I’ve spent most days of the month with either a cold or a stomachache. It’s the flu season here, where the weather just can’t make up its mind on what it wants to be. It’ll be scorching hot in the afternoon and be raining storms in the evenings, which is a tad cumbersome. I mean, I have to get out of the office at lunch time and it’s SOOO hot, and in the evening, I need rush back to get to my other job and the rain is unrelenting. Not to mention the sickness it brings along.

UNIKNYA RAMADAN DI KELANTAN

A Ramadan Stall in Malaysia

It’s also the start of Ramadan season this month. For those of you who are unaware, Ramadan is the Muslim fasting month, which means there’s a ton of Ramadan food stalls and buffets around for the Muslims to break their fast. Even none Muslims like me get to enjoy awesome food. Which lead to eating one too many spicy stuff and inflicting pain on myself. It was totally worth it though.

As I mentioned earlier, I’ll have more free time starting this month! But there’s so much I want to do that I don’t think I can realistic squeeze everything into the time I have. The recent announcement of the Witcher Netflix has me excited to replay the Witcher games and reread the Witcher short stories and continue the main saga. Heck, I still haven’t finish the Blood and Wine expansion for Witcher 3.

I’ve also recently rekindled interest in the Three Kingdoms era and really want to consume more media about that time period. There’s also the books and games in I’ve started, like Malazan, Horizon: Zero Dawn and Persona 5. And I’ve been wanting to pick up Stellaris again and have been wanting to get started with Uglies, Air Awakens, Mass Effect: Andromeda and Nier: Automata.

Oh and writing too! Both novel and blog posts! It’s been so long since I’ve sat down and actually plan out something to write. I’ve so many swirling in my head that I feel like it’s about to burst. I’m really excited for this month! I mean it’s E3 season and I finally have more some time in hand!

SOOOOO many things I want to do, I can’t even decide where to start.

monthly-review-watch

May Watch.png

Didn’t do much watching last month, but I’m really pumped for Wonder Woman this month. I wasn’t optimistic about the film, based on DCEU’s track record and Patty Jenkin’s resume, but I’m glad the reviews are so great. Can’t wait to watch it. The only film I watched this month was Red Cliff Part One which was about the Red Cliff battle during the Three Kingdom periods. It’s a rewatch, and honestly, it’s quite poor. I remembered it being a decent film, but that wasn’t the case at all this time around. There were parts of the film where I was yawning. The battle scenes in particular were dreadful, with confusing shots and repeated footage. I didn’t bother to watch Part Two.

monthly-review-game

Games May

I’m completely addicted to Gwent: the Witcher Card Game. I highly recommend it to anyone with any interest in the Witcher series and in card games in general. Public beta’s just started so it’s open to everyone right now. And it’s very, and I do mean VERY friendly to none paying players. In fact, they’ve been so good to the players that it’s really not worth purchasing the card packs. CD Projekt Red also has an offer that gives you a free card pack and the Witcher: Enhanced Edition if you signed up for their newsletter, so I’ve messed with it a little. It’s quite clunky and hasn’t aged well, so I’m not sure if I would continue that. They also gave closed beta participants a code for Witcher 2 which I’m currently in the process of downloading. Definitely going to play this one, going to try the Iorveth path this time around.

I’ve played a little Persona 5 but it’s gotten a bit tiring for me to grind through Mementos, so I’ve set it aside for a bit. Mount and Blade: Warband was the other game I spent a lot of time on this month. It is set in a medieval times analog where you play as a warlord who can serve various kingdoms as vassals or mercenaries, gaining an army and feeding them, eventually carving out a kingdom for yourself. Needless to say, it reminds me a WHOLE lot of the Three Kingdoms era and was what kicked off the interest in the first place.

monthly-review-read

Read May

I’ve started reading a Hong Kong manhua the Ravages of Time which is a retelling of the Three Kingdoms era centered on Sima Yi and Zhao Yun. It’s really interesting to see how the author manages to subvert expectations and introduce interesting twists to the various characters in the story that still are who they are, yet different. Kinda like fairy tale retellings, really. I like this take on Lu Bu and the Liu Guan Zhang trio in particular. I’ve also started reading Arcanum Unbounded! Like finally! I’m going it through slowly and reading all about the planetary systems of the Cosmere and the various novellas and short stories I’ve yet to read. I’ve just finished the Allomancer Jak story, which reminds me a lot of the Fire Thief series, with footnotes filled with humorous quips. Also story behind Hope of Elantris was kinda cute, and I recommend you check that out if you haven’t yet.

That’s all from me today, I’m hoping to get another blog post up by the end of the week, talking about what I want to see in E3 this coming week. And I plan to do some catching up with comments and blogging. I’m SOO far behind it’s not even funny. Oh, and do let me know what your month has been like and I hopefully, you’ll hear from me before the end of the week!

10 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: May

  1. Yay! I hope you enjoy your free time this month! Very sad you were so ill last month, so I hope you get to relax now. My May was pretty good, as it tends to be, being my birthday month, haha. Overall, pretty good, and the weather has only gotten better around here as of late. Hope you’re enjoying Persona 5 overall. It’s something that I’ve wanted to try for some time now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the kind words and happy belated birthday! Glad to hear that it’s been a great month for you! Persona 5 has been a great experience, I’ve just put it aside at the moment because grinding the side quest dungeon is one of the less fun aspects of the game, though I still want to complete it. Hopefully I’ll be able to continue it later this month. In the mean time, I still need to finish Dragon Quest Builders which my colleague lent me. Can’t keep him waiting for it for too long.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. this post turned out to be so relatable, hahah. school has been draining all of my energy for the past few months, but winter break is approaching, which means i’ll finally have more free time. i don’t even know what i’m going to do first, with all those free weeks ahead of me. i plan to watch a bunch of dramas and, hopefully, read a lot. i hope you enjoy your free time as well!
    thankfully, the weather is getting cooler here, which i’m super happy about. during winter, it’s also flu season around, so another one of my plans for winter break is not to get sick, so i can enjoy it completely.
    i hope you have a great june, jamie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you enjoy your winter break! And do take care of yourself, the last thing you need is to be sick when you can be watching all those dramas and reading all those books!

      Like

  3. I’m a Warband enthusiast. I was looking for articles on the subject and was excited to see your mention of the Romance of the Three Kingdoms. I always wondered what a game with the complexity of Warband would be like with the depth of story and characters present in ROTK.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’ll definitely be an interesting scenario to play in. Just the number of named characters in the Romance of the Three Kingdoms alone is staggering. Here’s hoping it will appear as some sort of DLC/Expansion in Bannerlord.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

