E3 2017 Hype and Speculations

e3 hype

E3 is happening in just a few days! Let’s get the hype train going! Or maybe not. This will be the first time in a long time that I won’t be able to watch live, except for EA (which is 3am my time) and maybe Sony, though I might have to save up some bandwidth on my phone for that, assuming a stable connection could even established to stream it. Still, next week’s going to be an interesting one.

Here’s a list of things I’m excited about for the E3 Season. I’ll list them by each conference, and then end with publishers and developers who don’t have their own conference.

EA-logo-black

EA will be the first publisher to have their conference, though they technically aren’t part of the E3 showcase. They’re doing their own thing again this year, EA Play, which just so happens to be at the same time as E3. Last year’s EA Play was disappointing. The only parts I remember from it were some talks about more Star Wars games, some developer diaries about Mass Effect Andromeda and a nice banter between Peter Moore and Jose Mourinho during the FIFA 17 section. Moore, who’s always been a big part of EA’s press conferences no longer with them (he’s now the CEO of Liverpool FC, good man), so things are sure to be different around.

So what should we be expecting for this year’s EA Play? Star Wars: Battlefront II will likely take center stage at this event. Though I’m more interested in Motive Studio’s Star Wars game. Long term veterans like Amy Hennig, Jade Raymond and Kim Swift are behind the helm, so I believe it’s going to be a treat.

 

I’m personally interested in FIFA 18 too, though I doubt many will agree with me. I’m hoping for some major improvements to the Career Mode but I fully expect to be disappointed. Ultimate Team is making too much money for them to look into other game modes. BioWare might have some stage time this EA.

There’s the rumored Project Dylan which could be a Destiny-esque game and not my cup of tea. There’s also room for some Mass Effect Andromeda DLCs though I’m assuming lackluster reception to the game might put them off show it at the conference. And of course there’s always a chance the next Dragon Age game could make an appearance. To Tevinter we go!

a9d03015-2760-43df-8056-d23af1969289

Next up on the schedule will be the Xbox conference, which is moved up a day early compared to their usual timeslot. Likely this is a move made to allow people to digest their announcement before Sony’s conference.

This E3 is exciting times for Xbox fans, with the latest iteration of the Xbox One being officially announced this conference. I expect the majority of the conference to be focused on the console, with its capabilities explained, the pricing confirmed and of course showing off some games on it. Personally, I’m not really the idea of Scorpio, since I think it will just be a buffed up version of the Xbox One, but it’s still interesting to see what Microsoft has come up with.

In terms of games, it will be interesting to see Cuphead again. Though at this point, it’s almost a mainstay. It’s been in every conference since 2014.

A release date will be nice. Halo 6 and Gears of War 5 will probably not be at the show. Gears 4 just released recently and there has been talks that Halo 6 will skip this conference. Though they did hint that there will be something Halo related at the show. Perhaps the TV series? Or maybe another spinoff ala Halo Wars or Spartan Assault.

The only other game I’m interested in is State of Decay 2. The first one was a nice game but it had a ton of flaws, I’m hoping with the full backing of Microsoft, Undead Labs will be able to turn the sequel into something amazing.

Bethesda-Logo-Wallpaper-PNG

Bethesda is next. And thinking back to their last conference, most of the games announced have been released. It’s a highly unusual case, compared to the norm at E3. I expect this year to be the same. We’ll probably be seeing The Evil Within 2 and Wolfenstein: the New Colossus. Perhaps an Elder Scrolls Online and Legends expansion could make an appearance. Though I think most eyes will be one whatever Bethesda Game Studio is working on. Rumor has it that it will be a space RPG called Starfield. Sign me up for that.

ubisoft-black-and-white-logo-B471C0F38E-seeklogo.com

Ubisoft’s conference last year was… a mess. It was overly long, full of set pieces and numbers, and it had few actual announcements of note. I’m hoping they keep it brief this time around, because boy, do they have some interesting stuff on their plate going into E3 this year.

Far Cry 5 has recently been revealed and will be set in a Montana-esque backwoods area where a religious cult has taken control. It’s a bit on the nose, I feel, and will definitely prove to be a controversial topic, but I think it has the potential to be good, if done correctly. I’m not certain Ubisoft has what it takes, but I’m still hanging on to some hope.

Assassin’s Creed: Origins will most likely be on the stage as week. It will be set in Ancient Egypt and, based on the title, likely be about the origins of the assassin order. With the AC franchise taking a break for a year, it will be interesting to see what sort of changes Ubisoft has make to the series. Less collectibles, tower climbing and more interesting story and side objectives would be a good start. Naval combat also looks like it will make a return.

South Park: Fractured But Whole should make a brief appearance here, hopefully with a firm release date alongside. I’m worried the superhero references might be a bit stale at this point, but I hope it’s not the case. I mean both Captain America: Civil War and Batman vs Superman were last year. Perhaps they’ll add more current events into the game.

PlayStation_logo.svg

I find it fascinating how, despite the lack of new things, Sony’s conference still seems like the most anticipated conference of E3. This could totally be my personal bias of course. Last year’s Sony conference was really the highlight of the season and I fully expect Sony to match it in every way possible, though Ubisoft and Xbox will likely be hot on their heels.

There’s so many games I’m excited for in this conference. God of War will likely take center stage. I mean there’s a huge building size poster and all. I’m expecting it to come out in Q4 2017 at the latest. I’m not 100% onboard with the change of direction though, not because of what it’s become but rather what’s it has left behind. We need more combo hack and slash games perhaps DMC6?

Spider-Man and Detroit: Become Human are two other games from last year that will make a return, alongside Days Gone. I’m anticipating the former two to come out soon and the latter to come out sometime next year.

I’m also hoping for more information about Dreams and Wild. Two games we haven’t seen in a while.  And last of all, I’m anticipating Sucker’s Punch New IP to be officially teased, though unlikely to be released anytime soon.

The Last of Us 2 and Shenmue 3 are likely going to be no shows, but I wouldn’t be surprise to see Death Stranding on stage. I mean Kojima has said he won’t be there, but judging by his past antics… well, let’s just say he’s a huge troll.

free-vector-nintendo-logo_090577_nintendo_logo

Nintendo, as per usual, will be closing out the E3 press conferences. I was hoping for Pokemon Stars to come on Switch, but with the announcement of Pokemon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon, it’s not looking likely. Mario Odyssey will definitely be there. Hopefully we’ll see some gameplay.

And… that’s all? I’m really hoping for more game announcements for Switch. I really want to see more good things come to the platform. The SMT game and Project Octopath Traveler do look interesting. I’m still not sold on the system yet, but only in terms of its game library.

Others

Other publishers will likely have some form of presence in and around E3. I’ll be keeping an eye out for Square Enix specifically. I’m expecting some big announcement about their Avengers Games as well as Shadow of the Tomb Raider. More information about Lost Sphear would also be much appreciated.

I’m not holding out much hope for Final Fantasy 7 and Kingdom Hearts 3. Those aren’t likely to be released soon, though one or two teasers might still pop up. The latter more likely than the former with the recent shakeup of FF7’s development. Dissidia NT will probably have more info too.

From CD Projekt Red, I’ll be expecting news of Gwent updates. A balance patch is due soon and they’re having a stream soon. A short section talking about the Single Player Campaign in Xbox’s conference won’t be out of place too, though I think Microsoft are likely to keep the conference focused on Scorpio. As for Cyberpunk 2077? Let’s not hold our breaths for that one.

Other games I’m hoping to see are Mount and Blade 2: Bannerlord. Though I think hoping for a release date is too much to ask for. Dynasty Warriors 9 is actually going to be interesting for once, with the game moving to the open world with most of China being rendered in the game itself. More info about the game would be much appreciated.

Agents of Mayhem is another game I’m keeping a lookout for. It’s a squad based superhero game made by the creators of Saints Row. Speaking of superheroes, rumors have been brewing about a potential Batman game by Warner Brothers Montreal. They seems to have taken a U-turn from the Damian Wayne/Batman Beyond idea, so some idea about where they’re taking the series would be nice. There’s also Middle-Earth: Shadow of War being published by Warner Bros. The first game was fun and it will be interesting to see how they improve on the formula.

Last but not least, I’m hoping to see more news from two Dontnod Entertainment games, Life is Strange: Season 2 and Vampyr. The former has just been recently announced, and the timing makes me thing that something will be shown at E3 this year, while the latter has been to several E3 and is a callback to older cRPGs.

That’s all from me. Will you be following E3? What games are you looking forward to the most?

What are your thoughts?

